Home Featured Lindblad earns first car racing win in safety car-filled F4 UAE race three

Lindblad earns first car racing win in safety car-filled F4 UAE race three

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: F4 UAE

Hitech GP’s Arvin Lindblad claimed his maiden car racing win in the third Formula 4 United Arab Emirates race at Dubai Autodrome, which ran mostly behind the safety car.

The Red Bull junior nailed both the start and the safety car restart to win ahead of Mumbai Falcons’ Tuukka Taponen and Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu, who leaves the first round with a 21-point gap to Lindblad on top of the standings.

Lindblad led away from pole with a good getaway, followed by Ferrari junior Taponen. Another fine start allowed Ugochukwu to move from fourth to third, whereas Pinnacle VAR’s Brando Badoer dropped to seventh from third on the grid.

Mumbai Falcons’ James Wharton closed the opening lap in fourth place, having started seventh, as he took advantage of the battle between R-ace GP’s Jesse Carrasquedo and MP Motorsport’s Valerio Rinicella to overtake both.

The safety car was summoned to the track before the end of lap two due to Prema’s Bianca Bustamante coming to a halt in the third sector. Yas Heat Academy’s Keanu Al Azhari pitted the lap before the safety car came in as he had damage to his front wing.

The track went green again with eight minutes remaining on the clock. MP’s Kirill Small got past Badoer around the outside of turn one. Behind them, Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael and Hitech GP’s James Piszcyk also battled for position, with Nael staying ahead of Piszcyk in ninth place.

The following lap Smal went for the move on his team-mate Rinicella. However, he locked up and tapped his rear-left tyre, prompting him into a spin. Rinicella dropped to the back of of the pack as a consequence of the incident.

Smal then advanced on Carrasquedo for fifth place, however, he suddenly lost places and dropped to ninth, where he finished.

The safety car was out again with two minutes to go due to the cars of Xcel Motorsport duo Aleksandr Bolduev and Federico Rifai being left on track with significant damage, and green flag action did not resume.

Race results (10 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Arvid Lindblad Hitech GP 29m54.387s
2 Tuukka Taponen Mumbai Falcons +0.221s
3 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema +0.564s
4 James Wharton Mumbai Falcons +0.973s
5 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr R-ace GP +1.328s
6 Brando Badoer Pinnacle VAR +1.833s
7 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +2.169s
8 James Piszcyk Hitech GP +2.930s
9 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport +3.508s
10 Zachary David R-ace GP +4.093s
11 Niko Lacorte Prema +5.326s
12 Hamda Al Qubaisi Yas Heat +5.504s
13 William Macintyre Hitech GP +5.823s
14 Kanato Le Hitech GP +6.618s
15 Alexander Abkhazava R-ace GP +7.384s
16 Muhammad Ibrahim Mumbai Falcons +7.949s
17 Noah Lisle Xcel Motorsport +8.149s
18 Flavio Olivieri Cram-Hitech GP +8.578s
19 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing +8.749s
20 Dion Gowda Carlin +10.656s
21 Fernando Barrichello Carlin-Xcel +12.780s
22 Akshay Bohra PHM Racing +13.005s
23 Lena Buhler R2Race +13.610s
24 Jakob Bergmeister PHM Racing +14.116s
25 Victoria Blokhina R2Race +14.672s
26 Sebastian Murray Cram-Hitech GP +15.988s
27 Matteo Quintarelli Yas Heat +16.514s
28 Kai Daryanani Pinnacle VAR +16.965s
29 Keanu Al Azhari Yas Heat +17.395s
30 Noah Stromsted PHM Racing +18.072s
31 Jack Beeton Pinnacle VAR +18.474s
32 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +19.251s
33 Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing +20.061s
34 George Zhuravskiy Xcel Motorsport +20.538s
35 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +21.121s
Ret Emely de Heus MP Motorsport
Ret Alexander Bolduev Xcel Motorsport
Ret Federico Rifai Xcel Motorsport
Ret Bianca Bustamante Prema
Fastest lap: Lindblad, 2m02.750s

Championship standings
1 Ugochukwu 66   2 Lindblad 45   3 Taponen 39   4 Badoer 28   5 Wharton 27   6 Rinicella 26   7 Smal 22   8 Kluss 14   9 Nael 12   10 Carrasquedo 11