Home Featured Liam Lawson wins first 2019 Toyota Racing Series race

Liam Lawson wins first 2019 Toyota Racing Series race

by Ida Wood

Photo: Bruce Jenkins

ADAC Formula 4 runner-up and Asian Formula 3 race-winner Liam Lawson opened the 2019 Toyota Racing Series at Highlands Motorsport Park with victory.

The New Zealander started the race from second behind Asian F3 champion Raoul Hyman, after Ferrari junior Marcus Armstrong was docked three places for setting his pole lap under yellow flags.

Lawson won the start-line battle for the lead, and didn’t take long to establish himself at the front. Hyman followed with a fast-starting Armstrong on his tail, and spent the first few laps holding the Ferrari junior off.

Single-seater returnee and Red Bull junior Lucas Auer overtook French F4 graduate Esteban Muth for fourth, and eventually joined Armstrong in attacking Hyman. It took them 12 laps before they made it past, by which point Lawson’s win was all but assured.

They ran in that order to the flag, with Brendon Leitch completing the top five behind Hyman. Muth was sixth, ahead of Petr Ptacek, Kazuto Kotaka, Cameron Das and Artem Petrov.

F3 regulars Calan Williams and Petru Florescu were 11th and 12th, with Parker Locke, Dev Gore and Thomas Smith meaning all 15 starters finished the race.

Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Liam Lawson M2 Competition 22m25.556s
2 Marcus Armstrong M2 Competition +9.037s
3 Lucas Auer M2 Competition +10.060s
4 Raoul Hyman Giles Motorsport +13.106s
5 Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +15.158s
6 Esteban Muth M2 Competition +19.280s
7 Petr Ptacek Giles Motorsport +20.507s
8 Kazuto Kotaka MTEC Motorsport +20.882s
9 Cameron Das M2 Competition +22.088s
10 Artem Petrov M2 Competition +22.727s
11 Callan Williams MTEC Motorsport +32.163s
12 Petru Florescu MTEC Motorsport +33.554s
13 Parker Locke Victory Motor Racing +36.209s
14 Dev Gore Giles Motorsport +37.060s
15 Thomas Smith Giles Motorsport +42.749s
Pole: Hyman, 1m28.489s ? ? ?Fastest lap: Lawson, 1m28.910s