Home Featured Leclerc fastest again in F3 on final afternoon of Jerez test

Leclerc fastest again in F3 on final afternoon of Jerez test

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Arthur Leclerc was fastest in the final session of FIA Formula 3’s Jerez test, ensuring a clean sweep of the four sessions for Prema.

Leclerc topped Tuesday’s rain-hit morning session, then was fastest twice in the day on Wednesday with the pace improving by 1.262s from morning to afternoon on day two as the track fully dried.

His 1m29.366s best put him 0.014 seconds ahead of ART Grand Prix’s second placed Victor Martins.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Franco Colapinto had looked on target to go third after a quick first two sectors but lost time in the final corners and had to settle for fourth behind Hitech GP’s Isack Hadjar.

Teams made the most of the dry track and an abundance of slick tyres for the three-hour afternoon session to make up for missed running from earlier sessions. Drivers took to the track immediately to begin working through test programmes.

Trident duo Roman Stanek and Zane Maloney trading top spot early on, with Hitech GP’s Kaylen Frederick and Isack Hadjar in close proximity through the first two hours.

MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet was briefly fastest with a 1m30.376s, before Leclerc bettered him by 0.048s. Frederick then put in a series of rapid laps, moving to the front before Stanek posted two low-1m30s laps.

Maloney became the first driver to lap sub-1m30s, by two tenths, then he was bettered by new team-mate Oliver Rasmussen who jumped ahead with a 1m29.634s.

An off from Campos Racing’s Hunter Yeany at the turn eight left-hander caused a brief red flag stoppage with 39 minutes remaining, and after the restart Leclerc quickly improved to 1m29.556s.

In the final 15 minutes, the pitlane came alive as the entire field with the exception of Hadjar ventured out for a final shot at a quick time.

With nine minutes to go, Leclerc lowered the pace to 1m29.366s, closely followed by Martins.

The earlier times from Rasmussen, Frederick and Maloney were good enough for fifth, sixth and seventh, with day one pacesetter Ollie Bearman eighth.

The drivers with the heaviest workload in the session were VAR’s Reece Ushijima and Rafael Villagomez, setting 65 and 62 laps respectively.

Afternoon session
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m29.366s 35
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m29.380s +0.014s 40
3 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m29.611s +0.245s 35
4 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.614s +0.248s 47
5 Oliver Rasmussen Trident 1m29.634s +0.268s 41
6 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m29.720s +0.354s 41
7 Zane Maloney Trident 1m29.799s +0.433s 45
8 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m29.835s +0.469s 33
9 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m29.842s +0.476s 44
10 Roman Stanek Trident 1m30.015s +0.649s 52
11 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m30.023s +0.657s 43
12 Jak Crawford Prema 1m30.145s +0.779s 37
13 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m30.157s +0.791s 38
14 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m30.327s +0.961s 44
15 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.349s +0.983s 65
16 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m30.401s +1.035s 47
17 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m30.401s +1.035s 31
18 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m30.456s +1.090s 40
19 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m30.482s +1.116s 43
20 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m30.485s +1.119s 43
21 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m30.565s +1.199s 48
22 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.582s +1.216s 34
23 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.659s +1.293s 36
24 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.675s +1.309s 62
25 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m30.693s +1.327s 39
26 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m31.061s +1.695s 39
27 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.090s +1.724s 33
28 Ayrton Simmons Charouz Racing System 1m31.220s +1.854s 30
29 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m31.551s +2.185s 27
30 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m31.878s +2.512s 32