Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Beganovic tops FREC’s Monza test, KIC confirms Wisnicki in line-up

Beganovic tops FREC’s Monza test, KIC confirms Wisnicki in line-up

by Ida Wood

Photo: Prema

Prema duo Dino Beganovic and Paul Aron were fastest in the morning and afternoon on day two of Formula Regional European Championship’s pre-season Monza test.

It took more than an hour of the morning session until half of the 37-strong field had set representative laptimes, with G4 Racing’s Matias Zagazeta initially fastest, and then Trident’s Tim Tramnitz taking over at the top as he broke into the 1m48s.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort was briefly in first, then usurped by Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli despite his own improvements. He lapped sub-1m48s too, but Prema’s lead duo did at the same time and Aron was the new fastest driver.

A brief red flag period was caused by Monolite Racing’s Pietro Armanni with two hours to go, and after that ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini bettered Aron by 0.062 seconds.

There was lots of changes in the top 10 through the next 45 minutes but nobody beat Mini until Monolite’s Maceo Capietto set a 1m47.302s with an hour to go. Prema’s drivers headed back out, and Beganovic went fastest by 0.272s over Aron.

Capietto was third, and the top 24 were covered by one second place. R-ace GP’s Hadrien David was 25th.

It again took more than an hour for the majority of cars to go on track in the afternoon session, and Haverkort set the early pace at 1m48.241s as the order behind was shuffled by deleted laptimes.

He remained ahead until just before a red flag period, caused by FA Racing’s Nicolas Baptiste, with one hour and 41 minutes to go. A few minutes prior, Beganovic and Aron had gone one-two.

Beganovic improved not long after the break, then again in the final hour to 1m47.828s. Aron was 0.126s back, ahead of Haverkort, Armanni and the new Race Performance Motorsport team’s Keith Donegan, who was 13th in the morning.

Cenyu Han and Dilano van’t Hoff missed the afternoon, and Michael Belov only left the garage in the last hour. The day was ended early after Francesco Braschi and Hamda Al Qubaisi collided.

KIC Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos and Piotr Wisnicki were the only two whose best laptime came in the afternoon, as it was confirmed Wisnicki will be racing for the team this year. The Pole, who has raced in Italian Formula 4 for the past two years, announced he would compete in FREC back in February.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m47.016s 61
2 Paul Aron Prema 1m47.288s +0.272s 60
3 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m47.302s +0.286s 62
4 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m47.307s +0.291s 42
5 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m47.416s +0.400s 42
6 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m47.611s +0.595s 50
7 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m47.637s +0.621s 42
8 Kas Haverkort Vam Amersfoort Racing 1m47.679s +0.663s 60
9 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m47.720s +0.704s 72
10 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m47.722s +0.706s 68
11 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m47.723s +0.707s 56
12 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m47.731s +0.715s 58
13 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m47.756s +0.740s 58
14 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m47.833s +0.817s 36
15 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m47.844s +0.828s 33
16 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m47.847s +0.831s 59
17 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m47.861s +0.845s 59
18 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m47.870s +0.854s 73
19 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m47.880s +0.864s 56
20 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m47.881s +0.865s 63
21 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m47.891s +0.875s 50
22 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m47.932s +0.916s 39
23 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m47.936s +0.920s 41
24 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m47.945s +0.929s 69
25 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m48.109s +1.093s 55
26 Noel Leon Arden 1m48.144s +1.128s 62
27 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 1m48.152s +1.136s 27
28 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.159s +1.143s 59
29 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.166s +1.150s 60
30 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m48.198s +1.182s 70
31 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m48.250s +1.234s 83
32 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m48.435s +1.419s 44
33 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m48.441s +1.425s 50
34 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m48.631s +1.615s 62
35 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m48.795s +1.779s 51
36 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m48.826s +1.810s 58
37 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m48.842s +1.826s 59