Home Formula 2 Leal tops Spielberg GP2 practice ahead of Marciello

Leal tops Spielberg GP2 practice ahead of Marciello

by Gruz David
Julian Leal

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

Julian Leal was fastest in the practice session of GP2 at Spielberg.

The session started and ended the same way, with light rain falling on the track, however, most of the practice was dry, enabling the drivers to learn the track, which is visited by GP2 for the first time.

It was championship leader Jolyon Palmer and Caterham’s Alexander Rossi who set the early pace, however, in the middle of the session?Ferrari Academy driver Raffaele Marciello took the lead.

Colombian Leal, who is currently sitting fourth in the standings with two podiums, took the lead in the final minutes from Marciello, who had to settle with second at the end.

Racing Engineering and Carlin locked out the top four positions as Stefano Coletti and Felipe Nasr finished in third and fourth respectively, with the latter only separated from the benchmark time by less then 0.3s.

Race winner from Catalunya, Johhny Cecotto?Jr ended up in fifth, beating his former teammate Mitch Evans by 0.003s.

Hilmer’s Daniel Abt took seventh, with local driver Rene Binder, McLaren junior driver Stoffel Vandoorne and Palmer rounding the top ten out.

One incident between Nasr and Facu Regalia, with the latter impeding, is under investigation by the stewards.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Julian Leal Carlin 1:15.652
2 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1:15.768 0.116
3 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 1:15.830 0.178
4 Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:15.944 0.292
5 Johnny Cecotto Trident 1:16.189 0.537
6 Mitch Evans Russian Time 1:16.192 0.540
7 Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 1:16.300 0.648
8 Rene Binder Arden International 1:16.426 0.774
9 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:16.463 0.811
10 Jolyon Palmer DAMS 1:16.502 0.850
11 Alexander Rossi Caterham Racing 1:16.544 0.892
12 Stephane Richelmi DAMS 1:16.572 0.920
13 Sergio Canamasas Trident 1:16.620 0.968
14 Rio Haryanto Caterham Racing 1:16.602 0.950
15 Simon Trummer Rapax 1.16.721 1.069
16 Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport 1:16.865 1.213
17 Conor Daly Venezuela GP 1:16.888 1.236
18 Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:16.935 1.283
19 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 1:17.104 1.452
20 Facu Regalia Hilmer Motorsport 1:17.169 1.517
21 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:17.171 1.519
22 Andre Negrao Arden International 1:17.288 1.636
23 Tio Ellinas MP Motorsport 1:17.300 1.648
24 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 1:17.370 1.718
25 Kimiya Sato Campos Racing 1:17.605 1.953
26 Nathanael Berthon Venezuela GP 1:17.785 2.133