Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Late lap gives Colapinto first FREC pole at Red Bull Ring

Late lap gives Colapinto first FREC pole at Red Bull Ring

by Craig Woollard

Photo: FRECA

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto put in a late lap to take his first Formula Regional European Championship pole at the Red Bull Ring, with championship leader Gregoire Saucy in sixth.

Colapinto, a frontrunner in the Formula Renault Eurocup in 2020, went to the top of the timesheet with his penultimate lap to snatch pole position from R-ace GP’s Hadrien David by a tenth of a second.

Both spent much of the session towards the top, but it was Colapinto who prevailed in the end.

Saucy, meanwhile, could only manage sixth, nearly three tenths off the pace and did not make much of an impact on the top of the times at all. His fastest lap came on his 10th tour of 12.

Prema’s Paul Aron looked set for the front row for much of the session but was displaced and ended up third quickest ahead of FA Racing’s Gabriel Bortoleto – another driver to put in a late lap.

Arden’s Alex Quinn is set to start on the third row alongside Saucy after taking fifth, with team-mate William Alatalo in seventh.

R-ace’s Isack Hadjar and Zane Maloney, and ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini rounded out the top 10, with G4 Racing’s Michael Belov not far behind.

Then comes a small gap to the top of the midfield pack, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya ahead of Prema duo Dino Beganovic and David Vidales with Monolite Racing’s Pietro Delli Guanti rounding out the top 15.

Championship returnee and reigning champion Gianluca Petecof was 16th fastest of the 33 runners in his KIC Motorsport-run entry after his team repaired a suspension failure from free practice on Friday.

FIA Formula 3 regular Ido Cohen was the slowest runner, but only completed two naps, neither of which was a representative time.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m25.403s 12
2 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m25.516s +0.113s 12
3 Paul Aron Prema 1m25.603s +0.200s 12
4 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m25.664s +0.261s 12
5 Alex Quinn Arden 1m25.675s +0.272s 12
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m25.696s +0.293s 12
7 William Alatalo Arden 1m25.728s +0.325s 11
8 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m25.729s +0.326s 11
9 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m25.756s +0.353s 11
10 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m25.759s +0.356s 12
11 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m25.773s +0.370s 11
12 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m25.914s +0.511s 11
13 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m25.917s +0.514s 12
14 David Vidales Prema 1m26.086s +0.683s 11
15 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m26.093s +0.690s 12
16 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport 1m26.099s +0.696s 11
17 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m26.101s +0.698s 12
18 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m26.138s +0.735s 12
19 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m26.138s +0.735s 12
20 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.140s +0.737s 13
21 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m26.157s +0.754s 14
22 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m26.273s +0.870s 12
23 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m26.292s +0.889s 12
24 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.308s +0.905s 15
25 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m26.320s +0.917s 12
26 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m26.401s +0.998s 12
27 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m26.584s +1.181s 12
28 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing 1m26.668s +1.265s 12
29 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m26.862s +1.459s 13
30 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m27.093s +1.690s 11
31 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m27.316s +1.913s 11
32 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m27.452s +2.049s 1
33 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport 2m05.574s +40.171s 2