Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Kevin Ceccon wins second GP3 race at Silverstone

Kevin Ceccon wins second GP3 race at Silverstone

by Peter Allen
Kevin Ceccon

Photo: GP3 Media Service

Kevin Ceccon scored his first single-seater race victory since 2011 by winning the second GP3 race at Silverstone.

The Italian started from second on the reverse grid and took the lead away from Ralph Boschung off the line.

He held off an early attack from Esteban Ocon and then began pulling away, finishing more than two seconds ahead of the European F3 champion as he took his first win since his title-winning Auto GP campaign four years ago.

Rookie Boschung converted his second straight reverse-grid pole into maiden podium finish in GP3, followed by the duelling Koiranen pair of Jimmy Eriksson and Matt Parry.

Race one winner Marvin Kirchhofer climbed to fifth on the opening lap but soon found himself pushed back down to eighth, behind Parry, Emil Bernstorff and championship leader Luca Ghiotto.

Matheo Tuscher and Oscar Tunjo completed the top 10.

A torrid weekend for Ferrari junior Antonio Fuoco was completed by him spinning out of 16th at Becketts, dropping him to the back of the pack.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Kevin Ceccon Arden International 15 laps in 27:30.411
2 Esteban Ocon ART Grand Prix +1.533
3 Ralph Boschung Jenzer Motorsport +7.140
4 Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP +8.076
5 Matt Parry Koiranen GP +8.528
6 Emil Bernstorff Arden International +9.279
7 Luca Ghiotto Trident +9.656
8 Marvin Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix +12.103
9 Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport +14.429
10 Oscar Tunjo Trident +15.680
11 Alfonso Celis ART Grand Prix +19.343
12 Seb Morris Status Grand Prix +22.623
13 Alex Palou Campos Racing +22.996
14 Adderly Fong Koiranen GP +23.663
15 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +24.046
16 Alex Bosak Arden International +27.223
17 Artur Janosz Trident +28.413
18 Alex Fontana Status Grand Prix +28.703
19 Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport +28.891
20 Sandy Stuvik Status Grand Prix +30.377
21 Mitchell Gilbert Carlin +31.868
22 Zaid Ashkanani Campos Racing +36.829
23 Antonio Fuoco Carlin +37.730
24 Christopher Hoher Campos Racing +41.260