Home Formula 3GB3 Kaylen Frederick returns to the stop in British F3 at Donington Park

Kaylen Frederick returns to the stop in British F3 at Donington Park

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Kaylen Frederick converted BRDC British Formula 3 pole position for race one into his fourth victory of 2020, ahead of Ulysse de Pauw and Kush Maini.

Carlin driver Frederick was able to hold first place at the start of the race from De Pauw and gradually create a lead over the Belgian during the race.

The Douglas Motorsport driver had to settle for second and finished 3.204s behind. De Pauw had Hitech GP’s Kush Maini close behind him in the final stages, with the points leader rounding the podium only a further half-second behind.

Lanan Racing’s Bart Horsten moved up from fifth to fourth at the start and stayed there, after Hillspeed’s Sasakorn Chaimongkol dropped down the order on the opening lap.

Frederick’s team-mate Nazim Azman made a similar improvement during the race to Horsten to finish fifth, while Double R Racing’s Benjamin Pedersen was able to make up two positions to take the chequered flag in sixth.

Just over one second separated him from Oliver Clarke (Hillspeed) and Reece Ushijima (Hitech) in seventh and eighth respectively by the end of the race.

After falling out of the top 10 at the start, Chaimongkol was able to pass Piers Prior for ninth on lap nine of 12 and kept the position until the end of the race. Lanan’s Prior had Double R’s Louis Foster close behind him at the chequered flag but was able to solidify 10th place, a rise of six positions from where he started.

Despite the poor result, Foster still moved up to third in the points as he finished two spots ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing rival Josh Skelton.

Douglas Motorsport’s Kiern Jewiss, ahead of both in the points and the closest to Maini, had to pit at the end of the opening lap after breaking his front-left suspension. The team were able to fix the damage and he finished several laps down.


Race results (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 19m29.110s
2 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +3.204s
3 Kush Maini Hitech GP +3.784s
4 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing +5.047s
5 Nazim Azman Carlin +8.805s
6 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +10.132s
7 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +10.606s
8 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +11.167s
9 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +12.207s
10 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +12.902s
11 Louis Foster Double R Racing +13.222s
12 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +14.250s
13 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +14.530s
14 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +16.923s
15 Alex Fores Chris Dittmann Racing +20.073s
16 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +24.167s
17 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +5 laps
Ret Frank Bird Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: Frederick, 1m25.210s

Championship standings
1 Maini 251   2 Jewiss 202   3 Foster 189   4 Skelton 188   5 Frederick 213   6 Azman 187   7 De Pauw 178   8 Chaimongkol 153   9 Horsten 151   10 Pedersen 145