Home Formula 4British F4 Hedley converts pole to victory at Thruxton in British F4

Hedley converts pole to victory at Thruxton in British F4

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

James Hedley dominated the first British Formula 4 race at Thruxton to take his first win since the opening round of the season.

Hedley led from lights to flag and had little challenge from the rest of the field.

He had already begun to pull away from second placed Casper Stevenson on the opening lap when the safety car was brought out to retrieve Matias Zagazeta’s sticken car.

On the restart, Argenti Motorsport driver Stevenson was unable to challenge Hedley, but stuck with the leader.

Over the remaining 11 minutes, Stevenson stayed on the tail of Hedley, ready to pounce if he made a mistake. No overtaking opportunities would come though, as Hedley put in a faultless drive to take his second win of the season.

The battle for third was the closest fought throughout the race. On the opening lap, Abbi Pulling came under pressure from Alex Connor, but a wide moment for the Arden driver dropped him into the clutches of Luke Browning.

Points leader Browning snatched fourth just before the safety car came out, and immediately challenged Hedley’s JHR Developments team-mate Pulling on the restart.

By the time he had passed Pulling, Hedley and Stevenson had already built a decent gap. Without the tow he struggled to make progress and had to fight to stay ahead of Pulling.

Browning put up a good defence, and was given brief rest-bite when Connor took fourth from Pulling, but then came under renewed pressure from the Arden driver.

He held onto third to take his eighth consecutive podium finish just 0.130s ahead of Connor.

Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan pipped Pulling on the final lap to take fifth, while Frederick Lubin was top of the rookie class in seventh.

The grid was down on cars, with JHR’s Nathanael Hodgkiss and Argenti’s Nico Pino both absent.


Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Hedley JHR Developments 20m08.725s
2 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport +0.193s
3 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports +5.850s
4 Alex Connor Arden +5.980s
5 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +6.385s
6 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments +7.391s
7 Frederick Lubin Arden +7.665s
8 Roman Bilinski Arden +7.995s
9 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport +8.659s
10 Christian Mansell Carlin +8.821s
11 Rafael Villagomez Fortec Motorsports +16.030s
Ret Matias Zagazeta Carlin
Fastest lap: Hedley, 1m14.041s

Championship standings
1 Browning 242   2 O’Sullivan 199   3 Stevenson 150   4 Connor 146   5 Hedley 126   6 Roberto Faria 99   7 Bilinski 91   8 Mansell 72   9 Pulling 71   10 Lubin 39