Home News Kas Haverkort starts car racing career with triple Spanish F4 win

Kas Haverkort starts car racing career with triple Spanish F4 win

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Single-seater debutant Kas Haverkort controlled the first Spanish Formula 4 round of the 2020 season at Navarra.

The Dutch karting graduate beat Lorenzo Fluxa to pole for his first ever race, which he led from start to finish.

Global Racing Service driver Fluxa lost two spots on the opening lap and never recovered, while Mari Boya and Oliver Goethe finished behind Haverkort to complete a podium lockout for MP Motorsport.

Fluxa’s team-mate Suleiman Zanfari went in the opposite direction by rising from 13th on the grid to fifth on lap one, but was back in his starting spot by the mid-point of the race.

Drivex School’s Augustin Collinot held on to fifth once Zanfari had been sent back down the order, but then succumbed to pressure from his team-mate Valdemar Eriksen on the final lap and finished sixth.

Haverkort had another lights-to-flag success in race two, which was light on overtaking. A super start by Haverkort put him 1.4 seconds up within a lap, and he then cruised to victory ahead of Goethe and Fluxa.

Praga F4 returnee Carles Martinez was fourth, while Collinot was the top Drivex entrant in a distant sixth.

Joshua Dufek, a Sauber Karting graduate, beat Haverkort by 0.060s to race three pole, but was bettered by his MP team-mates Haverkort and Goethe at the start and had to settle for the bottom step of the podium.

Boya finished fourth to consolidate second place in the points, while Drivex’s Lena Buhler – the only Female Trophy driver – departs Navarra with two eighth places and a top 10 position in the standings.

Results round-up
Race 1 (16 laps)
1 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 26m58.741s
2 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +2.995s
3 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +4.063s
4 Lorenzo Fluxa Global Racing Service +10.166s
5 Valdemar Eriksen Drivex School +14.558s
6 Augustin Collinot Drivex School +15.306s
7 Paul-Adrien Pallot Drivex School +19.328s
8 Javier Sagrera Mol Racing +29.002s
9 Mehrbod Sahmeli Xcel Motorsport +29.209s
10 Enzo Joullie MP Motorsport +30.394s
Pole: Haverkort, 1m39.992s
Fastest lap: Haverkort, 1m40.444s

Race 2 (12 laps)
1 Haverkort 20m11.062s
2 Goethe +2.013s
3 Fluxa +3.199s
4 Carles Martinez Praga F4 +3.920s
5 Collinot +6.614s
6 Ivan Nosov Drivex School +7.732s
7 Joshua Dufek MP Motorsport +8.147s
8 Lena Buhler Drivex School +10.595s
9 Boya +13.072s
10 Eriksen +14.426s
P: Haverkort, 1m40.012s
FL: Haverkort, 1m39.964s

Race 3 (16 laps)
1 Haverkort 26m55.893s
2 Goethe +1.570s
3 Dufek +3.493s
4 Boya +9.269s
5 Eriksen +10.162s
6 Fluxa +11.199s
7 Collinot +12.341s
8 Buhler +13.912s
9 Quique Bordas Praga F4 +15.977s
10 Sagrera +22.545s
P: Dufek, 1m39.870s
FL: Goethe, 1m40.285s

Championship standings
1 Haverkort 65   2 Goethe 45   3 Boya 30   4 Fluxa 30   5 Eriksen 20   6 Collinot 20   7 Dufek 17   8 Martinez 8   9 Pallot 6   10 Buhler 5