Home Featured Juri Vips takes Silverstone FIA F3 pole in thrilling qualifying session

Juri Vips takes Silverstone FIA F3 pole in thrilling qualifying session

by Peter Allen

Photo: Colin McMaster/FIA F3

Juri Vips followed his Red Bull Ring win with a maiden FIA Formula 3 pole position at Silverstone, snatching top spot from long-term rival Marcus Armstrong at the very end of a thrilling qualifying session.

Armstrong went four tenths clear of Vips at the top of the times in the first half of the session, before fellow New Zealander Liam Lawson stayed out on a clear track to leap from 26th to second place.

With all the cars back out on fresh tyres at the end of the session, Niko Kari deposed Armstrong from top spot with four minutes left on the clock, before Hitech driver Vips then went quickest.

Armstrong was unable to improve instantly after going off onto the grass on the exit of Becketts, but fought back at the end of the session to go fastest after Pedro Piquet and championship leader Robert Shwartzman had both briefly taken turns on top.

Vips had the final say though, the Red Bull junior posting a 1m43.902s to deny his long-time rival Armstrong by 0.096s.

Prema briefly held the top three places before Vips’ pole effort, with Jehan Daruvala separating Armstrong and Shwartzman before the latter was pushed back to sixth by late improvements from Christian Lundgaard and Leonardo Pulcini.

Having been pushed back outside of the top 10, Lawson came back to take seventh in front of Piquet. That comfortably marks his best qualifying in the series so far, with 15th his previous best.

Fabio Scherer – whose best FIA F3 finish so far is 15th – went second in the closing stages on a circuit he claimed European F3 pole on in 2018, and ended up ninth, with Yifei Ye edging Jake Hughes by 0.001s for 10th.

Kari ended up 12th in front of Lundgaard’s ART team-mates David Beckmann and Max Fewtrell. Raoul Hyman rounded out the top 15, with his personal best of the season.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m43.902s
2 Marcus Armstrong Prema +0.096s
3 Jehan Daruvala Prema +0.112s
4 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix +0.171s
5 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech GP +0.237s
6 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.316s
7 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport +0.458s
8 Pedro Piquet Trident +0.501s
9 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +0.531s
10 Yifei Ye Hitech GP +0.559s
11 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +0.560s
12 Niko Kari Trident +0.574s
13 David Beckmann ART Grand Prix +0.679s
14 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix +0.682s
15 Raoul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +0.745s
16 Logan Sargeant Carlin +0.844s
17 Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +0.854s
18 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +1.065s
19 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing +1.082s
20 Felipe Drugovich Carlin +1.118s
21 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +1.186s
22 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident +1.207s
23 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab +1.208s
24 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport +1.240s
25 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab +1.327s
26 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport +1.399s
27 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport +1.533s
28 Teppei Natori Carlin +1.688s
29 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +2.201s
30 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +3.166s