Home Formula 2 Jordan King keeps Racing Engineering ahead in Jerez GP2 test

Jordan King keeps Racing Engineering ahead in Jerez GP2 test

by Peter Allen
Jordan King

Photo: Malcolm Griffiths/GP2 Series Media Service

Local team Racing Engineering topped the times for a second straight day in the GP2 pre-season test at Jerez, with Jordan King taking his turn to set the pace.

With a time of 1m24.429s set early in?the morning session, King was 0.116 seconds ahead of Prema rookie?Antonio Giovinazzi, with ART’s?Nobuharu Matsushita?third.

The same three teams occupied the next three positions, with Pierre Gasly (Prema) fourth ahead of?Norman Nato?- who was fastest on Tuesday for the outfit?from nearby Sanlucar – and?Sergey Sirotkin?(ART).

Alex Lynn was best of the rest in seventh for DAMS in front of the Rapax pair of?Arthur Pic and?Gustav Malja and Trident’s?Luca Ghiotto.

Malja was fastest in the afternoon, but almost two seconds adrift of King’s earlier time. Lynn and Giovinazzi followed, in front of Russian Time’s?Artem?Markelov?and MP Motorsport man?Daniel De Jong.

The morning session was interrupted by three red flags, with?Raffaele Marciello and Sirotkin making contact with the barriers and Ghiotto stopping on track. Marciello triggered another halt in the afternoon when he came to a stop.

Combined day two results
Pos Driver Team Session 1 Session 2
1 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:24.429 1:31.010
2 Antonio Giovinazzi Prema Racing 1:24.545 1:26.750
3 Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:24.579 1:31.094
4 Pierre Gasly Prema Racing 1:24.594 1:30.762
5 Norman Nato Racing Engineering 1:24.634 1:30.392
6 Sergey Sirotkin ART Grand Prix 1:24.689 1:31.285
7 Alex Lynn DAMS 1:24.696 1:26.340
8 Arthur Pic Rapax 1:25.049 1:27.341
9 Gustav Malja Rapax 1:25.088 1:26.319
10 Luca Ghiotto Trident 1:25.098 1:27.612
11 Marvin Kirchhofer Carlin 1:25.202 1:31.346
12 Raffaele Marciello Russian Time 1:25.241 1:31.840
13 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:25.259 1:27.060
14 Mitch Evans Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing 1:25.398 1:27.328
15 Oliver Rowland MP Motorsport 1:25.671 1:27.651
16 Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport 1:25.763 1:27.044
17 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:25.867 1:27.000
18 Jimmy Eriksson Arden International 1:26.081 1:27.662
19 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam Campos Racing 1:26.136 1:29.235
20 Philo Paz Armand Trident 1:26.301 1:31.668
21 Nabil Jeffri Arden International 1:26.493 1:28.228