Home Formula 4British F4 JHR’s Joseph Loake leaps to British F4 victory at Knockhill

JHR’s Joseph Loake leaps to British F4 victory at Knockhill

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

JHR Developments’ Joseph Loake stormed to victory in the opening British Formula 4 race of the weekend at Knockhill.

Loake got the best start on the grid to launch past poleman Ugo Ugochukwu off the line. The Carlin driver couldn’t stick with Loake, falling more than half a second behind before being pulled into a battle with Alex Dunne.

As the two fought for position, Loake extended his lead at the front of the order. Despite Dunne setting a new lap record of 48.436 seconds, there was little the points leader could do to stay in touch with Loake, and Loake finished 2.247s clear.

Dunne had managed to find a way past Ugochukwu with a late lunge down the inside of the poleman at the hairpin. Ugochukwu couldn’t fight back and a wide moment at the Arnold Clark chicane sent him plummeting down the order.

He dropped back to 12th and spent the remainder of the race struggling to make up positions. The McLaren junior climbed up to 11th, only to receive a five-second time penalty for exceeding track limits too many times.

Dunne finished a comfortable second ahead of Carlin duo Ollie Gray and Louis Sharp.

Eduardo Coseteng managed to find a way past Aiden Neate early on and finished fifth. Neate came under pressure from Oliver Stewart late on, but Stewart ran out of laps before he could make a move. Seventh overall was still enough to make him the top rookie. Georgi Dimitrov, Edward Pearson and Noah Lisle rounded out the points positions.

Race result (25 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 20m20.411s
2 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +2.247s
3 Ollie Gray Carlin +3.419s
4 Louis Sharp Carlin +5.587s
5 Eduardo Coseteng Hitech GP +10.134s
6 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport +11.405s
7 Oliver Stewart Hitech GP +12.021s
8 Georgi Dimitrov JHR Developments +14.655s
9 Edward Pearson Virtuosi +19.053s
10 Noah Lisle JHR Developments +23.542s
11 Michael Shin Virtuosi +23.981s
12 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin +26.898s
13 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport +29.572s
14 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP +41.673s
15 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport +2 laps
Fastest lap: Dunne, 48.426s

Championship standings
1 Dunne 259   2 Gray 204   3 Ugochukwu 150   4 Neate 145   5 Sharp 142   6 Loake 112   7 Dimitrov 100   8 Guinchard 96   9 Coseteng 94   10 Shin 54