Home Formula 4Italian F4 Jenzer’s Filip Ugran usurps Prema at end of Italian F4 testing

Jenzer’s Filip Ugran usurps Prema at end of Italian F4 testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran ended Italian Formula 4’s pre-season Imola test with the fastest time, pushing Prema’s drivers off the top late on.

It was Van Amersfoort Racing that set the pace in the morning, with Red Bull juniors Jonny Edgar and Jak Crawford both ending a session as the fastest driver.

Ugran was third fastest during the first running of the day, while Prema struggled and didn’t get any laps from Dino Beganovic during the second session after he stopped at Tamburello and caused a lengthy full course yellow period.

The Italian team was back on it during the afternoon, with its drivers Gabriele Mini, Sebastian Montoya and Gabriele Bortoleto filling the top three spots in session three, and Beganovic not far back in sixth.

Day one pacesetter Mini and Bortoleto were even faster in the final session, and sat at the top of the timesheet until Ugran put in a stunning lap with seven minutes to go that put him ahead by 0.166s.

Bhaitech’s Jesse Salmenautio also set a late flyer to go fourth, with fifth placed driver Crawford bringing an early end to action after he stopped on track with two minutes to go.

Francesco Simonazzi was sixth fastest for DRZ Benelli, with Edgar coming in seventh overall despite not improving on the lap he’d set early in the morning.

The top unsigned driver was once again Ollie Bearman, down in 13th for Mucke Motorsport, with fellow British karting graduate Dexter Patterson exactly one second off the pace in 17th. The Bhaitech driver had a dramatic day, which included receiving the black-and-orange flag.

Local team TC Motorsport ran a car for a driver, believed to be Fabio Fernando Caravella, who was over seven seconds off the pace.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m44.772s 76
2 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m44.938s +0.166s 74
3 Gabriele Bortoleto Prema 1m44.961s +0.189s 70
4 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m44.968s +0.196s 85
5 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.138s +0.366s 75
6 Francesco Simonazzi DRZ Benelli 1m45.147s +0.375s 77
7 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.151s +0.379s 74
8 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m45.263s +0.491s 81
9 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m45.289s +0.517s 74
10 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m45.394s +0.622s 70
11 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m45.405s +0.633s 48
12 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.469s +0.697s 81
13 Ollie Bearman Mucke Motorsport 1m45.486s +0.714s 69
14 Pietro Delli Guanti AS Motorsport 1m45.589s +0.817s 55
15 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.634s +0.862s 76
16 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m45.638s +0.866s 69
17 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m45.772s +1.000s 72
18 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m45.928s +1.156s 76
19 Sebastian Freymuth Cram Motorsport 1m46.097s +1.325s 72
20 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m46.253s +1.481s 80
21 Bence Valint Mucke Motorsport 1m46.280s +1.554s 63
22 Francesco Braschi AS Motorsport 1m46.445s +1.673s 69
23 Cenyu Han AKM Motorsport 1m46.533s +1.761s 67
24 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport 1m46.560s +1.788s 80
25 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m46.715s +1.943s 74
26 FABBRI TC Motorsport 1m52.029s +7.257s 72