Home Featured Jenzer’s Bedrin pips Prema’s Aron in F3’s first Imola test session

Jenzer’s Bedrin pips Prema’s Aron in F3’s first Imola test session

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Jenzer Motorsport’s Nikita Bedrin started Formula 3’s in-season test at Imola with the fastest laptime by 0.024 seconds in the Tuesday morning session.

The field headed out early on in mild condition, but nobody actually recorded a laptime until 41 minutes into the three-hour session when Van Amersfoort Racing’s Tommy Smith set a 1m47.667s.

He improved to 1m33.664s over the next 10 minutes, before finally being joined by another car on track. PHM Racing by Charouz’s Piotr Wisnicki lapped in the 1m37s, then approaching the end of the first hour MP Motorsport sent its cars on track.

Mari Boya went second fastest, 0.4 seconds off Smith’s pace, then Jonny Edgar set a 1m33.270s to move to the top. Rodin Carlin and Jenzer also joined the action as the second hour begun, with the latter’s Taylor Barnard slotting into second place on the timesheet as he and Edgar brought the pace down into the 1m31s.

Hitech GP was the next team to head out, and Gabriele Mini set a 1m31.738s to go fastest. It was only after 80 minutes had passed that more than half of the 29-car field, with Carlin’s Hunter Yeany absent, went on proper runs and immediately track limits was an issue for many.

Mini improved to 1m31.517s to still lead the way at the session’s halfway mark, then not long after red flags were out as Edgar – in third place behind Trident’s Oliver Goethe – had crashed at turn three.

Track action was stopped for 13 minutes, and when it resumed Bedrin got within a tenth of Mini’s benchmark while Campos Racing’s Christian Mansell jumped up to third place.

There was then another stoppage as Mansell’s team-mate Hugh Barter stopped at turn one with a technical problem, and when the next restart occurred there was still 57 minutes left on the clock.

Bedrin utilised the remaining track time best, heading out as soon as possible and not taking long to get up to speed. He set a 1m31.455s, putting him 0.072s ahead of Mini.

Most drivers were in the pits going into the final half-hour of the session, but with 15 minutes to go Prema’s Paul Aron went on track and he went just 0.024s slower than Bedrin. Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli also improved to go fourth fastest, 0.160s off the pace, before a late red flag period.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.445s 30
2 Paul Aron Prema 1m31.469s +0.024s 21
3 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m31.517s +0.072s 37
4 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m31.605s +0.160s 24
5 Christian Mansell Campos Racing 1m31.633s +0.188s 30
6 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m31.649s +0.204s 20
7 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m31.700s +0.255s 23
8 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m31.728s +0.283s 25
9 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m31.834s +0.389s 15
10 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m31.874s +0.429s 31
11 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident 1m31.960s +0.515s 27
12 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.962s +0.517s 34
13 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m31.967s +0.522s 14
14 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m31.990s +0.545s 31
15 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m32.067s +0.622s 24
16 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 1m32.204s +0.759s 21
17 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.249s +0.804s 29
18 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.372s +0.927s 27
19 Piotr Wisnicki PHM by Charouz 1m32.459s +1.014s 33
20 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.517s +1.072s 35
21 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 1m32.620s +1.175s 25
22 Ollie Gray Carlin 1m32.651s +1.206s 31
23 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m32.811s +1.366s 16
24 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m32.814s +1.369s 31
25 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.839s +1.394s 34
26 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m32.852s +1.407s 30
27 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz 1m33.321s +1.876s 34
28 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz 1m33.589s +2.144s 30
29 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m33.853s +2.408s 21
30 Hunter Yeany Carlin no time 0