Home News Jenic claims first Spanish F4 win for Teo Martin Motorsport

Jenic claims first Spanish F4 win for Teo Martin Motorsport

by Peter Allen

Photo: RFEdA

Filip Jenic claimed a first Spanish Formula 4 victory for himself and the Teo Martin Motorsport team in the penultimate race of the season at Barcelona.

The second-fastest times from the red-flag shortened first qualifying session created a mixed-up grid for the race, with four of the championship’s top five – Daniel Macia, Dilano van’t Hoff, Pepe Marti and Sebastian Ogaard – lining up across the rear three rows of the 26-car field.

Jenic, who had previously scored one podium finish at Valencia, started third but got a better start than the front-row men to claim the lead around the outside of pole-sitter Rik Koen in Turn 1.

A safety car period was triggered by an incident later on the opening lap, when Manuel Espirito Santo was knocked around by one of the Campos Racing cars exiting the chicane, breaking his rear-right suspension.

The clean-up process was a long one, and only six minutes plus a lap remained on the clock when the race restarted.

When it did, Noah Degnbol got his past his MP Motorsport team-mate Koen for second place into Turn 1. That helped Jenic to build a lead of 1.3 seconds up front, and the Serbian driver was untroubled on his way to the chequered flag.

A lap later Koen slipped behind Noam Abramczyck and down into fourth position, but Koen rallied again late on and capitalised on Degnbol running wide in Turn 10 on the final lap to dive down his inside and reclaim second place.

Drivex enjoyed a strong race with Abramczyck in fourth and Branden Lee Oxley in fifth both taking their best finishes of the season, and Guilherme Oliveira sixth. Oliveira was forced wide across the Turn 1 run-off area when battling with Oxley, an incident that went under investigation.

The favourites starting at the rear of the grid already made strong progress on lap one, led by Macia in 12th place, and the Formula de Campeones was able to climb up to ninth place by the finish, just missing out on the final point behind Oliver Michl and Suleiman Zanfari.

Marti went from 18th to 12th after the restart, getting himself ahead of both van’t Hoff and Ogaard.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport 10 laps
2 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +1.963s
3 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport +2.394s
4 Noam Abramczyck Drivex School +2.659s
5 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School +3.564s
6 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School +5.047s
7 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsort +6.161s
8 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +6.588s
9 Daniel Macia Formula de Campeones +7.009s
10 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +8.532s
11 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +10.554s
12 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +10.908s
13 Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport +11.402s
14 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport +13.042s
15 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing +13.908s
16 Quique Bordas Formula de Campeones +14.032s
17 Alex Partyshev Campos Racing +14.665s
18 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +15.036s
19 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +15.681s
20 Lucas Malek GRS +16.299s
21 Georgi Dimitrov Drivex School +16.719s
22 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School +17.428s
23 Jorge Campos Teo Martin Motorsort +17.613s
24 Alex Garcia Campos Racing +18.098s
25 Gil Molina MP Motorsport +18.494s
Ret Manuel Esperito Santo MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Koen, 1m48.151s

Championship standings
van’t Hoff 361   Ogaard 206   3 Marti 181   4 Bordas 152   5 Macia 130   6 Koen 123   7 Degnbol 89   8 Ryabov 85   9 Arkhangelskiy 66   10 Kelstrup 63