Home Featured Ogaard secures second overall in Spanish F4 with finale victory

Ogaard secures second overall in Spanish F4 with finale victory

by Peter Allen

Photo: Spanish F4

Sebastian Ogaard saw off his Campos Racing team-mate Pepe Marti to win the final race of the Spanish Formula 4 season at Barcelona and clinch second in the championship.

Having claimed pole position, Marti was 23 points behind Ogaard at the start of the race, but Ogaard got the better getaway of the two to lead into the first corner.

Ogaard led by 1.1 seconds at the end of the first lap and was looking comfortable out front when the safety car was deployed around five minutes in to retrieve the damaged car of Jorge Campos.

As in the previous two races, the safety car was a lengthy one – with the car of Alex Garcia also needing to be recovered – with 11 minutes remaining at the restart.

Marti was right behind Ogaard at the restart and tried to pass his team-mate around the outside of the first corner, only to slide wide into the run-off area and fall to seventh place.

After that, Ogaard was able to build a gap between himself and Noah Degnbol on his way to taking his fifth win of the campaign.

MP Motorsport driver Degnbol clinched a hat-trick of podiums from the final round, having previously not stood on the rostrum since round two at Navarra in May.

Max Arkhangelskiy returned to the podium for the second time this season, the Drivex man just holding off the recovering Marti by 0.111s at the line.

Vladislav Ryabov put an otherwise difficult weekend behind him to finish fifth for GRS ahead of Suleiman Zanfari and Guilherme Oliveira. Race two winner Filip Jenic was eighth in front of Georg Kelstrup and Daniel Macia.

Champion Dilano van’t Hoff failed to finish for the first and only time during his dominant season. He retired to the pits with six minutes remaining having slipped backwards into the mid-pack from eighth on the grid. He was investigated for an incident with Garcia after the latter’s retirement, but no action was deemed necessary.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing 14 laps
2 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport +1.766s
3 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +2.494s
4 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +2.605s
5 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +5.262s
6 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +7.710s
7 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School +7.890s
8 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport +9.076s
9 Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport +10.218s
10 Daniel Macia Formula de Campeones +13.409s
11 Noam Abramczyck Drivex School +18.500s
12 Quique Bordas Formula de Campeones +22.816s
13 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School +23.705s
14 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsort +24.366s
15 Alex Partyshev Campos Racing +24.807s
16 Lucas Malek GRS +25.242s
17 Gil Molina MP Motorsport +26.159s
18 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +26.398s
19 Manuel Esperito Santo MP Motorsport +26.755s
20 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School +27.243s
21 Georgi Dimitrov Drivex School +27.532s
22 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +28.156s
23 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +28.291s
Ret Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport
Ret Alex Garcia Campos Racing
Ret Jorge Campos Teo Martin Motorsort
Fastest lap: Marti, 1m47.837s

Championship standings
van’t Hoff 361   Ogaard 231   3 Marti 197   4 Bordas 152   5 Macia 131   6 Koen 123   7 Degnbol 107   8 Ryabov 95   9 Arkhangelskiy 81   10 Kelstrup 65