Home Featured Jehan Daruvala wins frantic first European F3 race at Spa

Jehan Daruvala wins frantic first European F3 race at Spa

by Tim Lumb

Polesitter Jehan Daruvala won a frantic first Formula 3 European Championship race of the weekend at Spa-Francorchamps as multiple championship contenders ran into issues.

The Carlin driver was slow off the line and was passed by both Hitech’s Alex Palou and Marcus Armstrong of Prema after the Turn 1.

Daruvala was able to make his way back into second place at Les Combes before the first lap ended and then just over five minutes later took first place from Palou entering the Kemmel Straight.

The victory is his first in European F3 this season after finishing third in races at Pau, Norisring and Zandvoort.

Ten minutes into the race Armstrong was having to hold off Hitech’s Ben Hingeley who had made up four places in the opening few laps. However he dropped down the order after sustaining a left rear puncture, and one minute later Hingeley also came into the pits.

Behind Daruvala and Palou the podium was completed by Prema’s Ralf Aron, who won twice last time out at Zandvoort.

He takes control of the overall championship lead as Guan Yu Zhou, who started the race in fourth place but dropped down the order, also sustained a left rear puncture which made him another retirement.

Aron was locked in a battle with Enaam Ahmed during the final few laps of the race, with the low starting Motopark’s Dan Ticktum starting to catch up to the pair.

However Ahmed broke his suspension after making contact with Aron on the Kemmel Straight on the penultimate lap, dropping him down to a lapped19th.

Ticktum was close enough to make a challenge on Aron during the final lap of the race, but stayed in fourth place at the chequered flag.

Prema’s Mick Schumacher made up 11 places from his 16th place starting position to finish fifth. The German was involved in a tight battle during the middle of the race with Ticktum and Juri Vips.

Vips later made contact with Jonathan Aberdein when the pair were battling for seventh place, but while Aberdein eventually retired from the race Vips eventually finished in seventh behind Prema’s Robert Shwartzman.

His Motopark team-mates Marino Sato and Fabio Scherer finished the race in eighth and 10th respectively, being split by Van Amersfoort Racing driver Artem Petrov.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 35m29.001s
2 Alex Palou Hitech GP +3.235s
3 Ralf Aron Prema +11.905s
4 Mick Schumacher Prema +16.506s
5 Robert Shwartzman Prema +16.716s
6 Juri Vips Motopark +17.625s
7 Marino Sato Motopark +19.599s
8 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +20.065s
9 Fabio Scherer Motopark +21.075s
10 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +22.835s
11 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +28.572s
12 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +30.700s
13 Dan Ticktum Motopark +32.569s
14 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +38.970s
15 Petru Florescu Fortec Motorsports +41.279s
16 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +43.674s
17 Julian Hanses ma-con +51.854s
18 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP +1m16.389s
19 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP +2 laps
Ret Jonathan Aberdein Motopark
Ret Guan Yu Zhou Prema
Ret Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin
Ret Marcus Armstrong Prema
DNS Nikita Troitskiy Carlin
Fastest Lap: Daruvala, 2m13.552s

Championship Standings
Aron 141.5   2 Armstrong 131   3 Ticktum 130   4 Zhou 130   5 Daruvala 96.5   6 Palou 90   7 Ahmed 88   8 Vips 88   9 Schumacher 74   10 Shwartzman 67