Home Formula 3Euroformula Janosz victorious in eventful Euroformula Open race

Janosz victorious in eventful Euroformula Open race

by Gruz David
Arthur Janosz

Photo: Fotospeedy

Polish driver Artur Janosz took his maiden victory in single-seaters in the first Euroformula Open race at Algarve.

Locking out the front row, RP’s Sandy Stuvik and Janosz made a perfect getaway and controlled the first part of the race. Behind them however, Cameron Twynham had to defend from the charging Yu Kanamaru and Alex Palou, with the latter damaging his front wing in an overtake attempt but being able to continue.

Various incidents in the first couple of laps forced several drivers out of the race including Yarin Stern, Che One Lim and Nicholas Pohler.

A collision between Damiano Fioravanti and Henrique Baptista triggered a safety car period which made the lead of Stuvik and Janosz disappear. More importantly, Stuvik had to visit the pits because of a gear problem, which made him lose his first position.

When the race restarted, Janosz easily kept his lead and completed a faultless race. Twynham, on the other hand, was overtaken on the main straight by both Kanamaru and Palou, who eventually finished second and third respectively.

In?the final laps, Twynham also had to defend from Konstantin Tereshchenko, however, he was able to keep fourth with the Russian recording his best result by finishing fifth.

Thai rookie Tanart Sathienthirakul ended up in sixth, while Sean Walkinshaw, series returnee Gerardo Nieto, Wei Fung Thong and Saud Al Faisal completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Artur Janosz RP Motorsport 19 laps in 35:56.718
2 Yu Kanamaru EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +4.883
3 Alex Palou Campos Racing +7.163
4 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +12.526
5 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing +12.688
6 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec +13.571
7 Sean Walkinshaw Campos Racing +14.876
8 Gerardo Nieto DAV Racing +15.420
9 Wei Fung Thong Team West-Tec +19.915
10 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport +20.510
11 Costantino Peroni RP Motorsport +25.399
12 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport +48.020
Not classified
Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport +6 laps
Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Competizioni +12 laps
Henrique Baptista DAV Racing +12 laps
William Barbosa Corbetta Competizioni +16 laps
Nicolas Pohler Team West-Tec +18 laps
Che One Lim EmiliodeVillota Motorsport +18 laps
Andres Saravia RP Motorsport +19 laps
Yarin Stern Team West-Tec +19 laps