Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Jamie Sharp secures National FF1600 pole in Wales

Jamie Sharp secures National FF1600 pole in Wales

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp pipped Kevin Mills Racing’s Jordan Dempsey to pole in BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 qualifying at Anglesey.

The grid order was set early on in the 15-minute session, with Sharp’s second flying lap ending up being not only his best but also good enough for pole.

Dempsey was just 0.090 seconds slower with his third flyer, while many other drivers also had their pace stagnate after their third or fourth efforts.

That meant the front row was set with 10 minutes to go of qualifying, and Ammonite Motorsport’s Colin Queen secured third place with a laptime just 0.032s slower than Dempsey’s.

Oldfield Motorsport driver Lucas Romanek qualified fourth after he did improve on his pace halfway through qualifying, ahead of Team Dolan’s Morgan Quinn – an early pitter – and Ammonite’s Shawn Rashid who jumped up to what was fifth place shortly before Romanek’s best lap came through.

Ben Cochran made small gains but ended the session unable to do better than seventh place, with Andre Lafond and Brandon McCaughan completing a top nine covered by just over eight tenths of a second.

After visa issues prevented their appearance at previous rounds, KMR’s South African drivers finally got to join the series and Josh le Roux and Alex Vos qualified 11th and 12th respectively.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing 1m33.595s 9
2 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing 1m33.685s +0.090s 9
3 Colin Queen Ammonite Motorsport 1m33.717s +0.122s 9
4 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport 1m34.086s +0.491s 8
5 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan 1m34.123s +0.528s 8
6 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport 1m34.227s +0.632s 10
7 Ben Cochran Team Dolan 1m34.232s +0.637s 9
8 Andre Lafond Ammonite Motorsport 1m34.369s +0.774s 9
9 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport 1m34.397s +0.802s 9
10 Davide Meloni B-M Racing 1m34.954s +1.359s 9
11 Josh le Roux Kevin Mills Racing 1m35.038s +1.443s 9
12 Alex Vos Kevin Mills Racing 1m35.438s +1.843s 10
13 Murray Sherpherd Andy Powell Racing 1m35.444s +1.849s 8
14 Gabe Tesch Team Dolan 1m35.630s +2.035s 9
15 Tom Nippers 1m36.438s +2.843s 9
16 Brindley Kinch Ammonite Motorsport 1m37.308s +3.713s 10