Home News Jagger Jones on pole for USF2000 opener at Indianapolis

Jagger Jones on pole for USF2000 opener at Indianapolis

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Jagger Jones just edged the debuting Alex Quinn and Thomas Nepveu to take pole for the first USF2000 race of the weekend on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course.

The sole qualifying session was split into two by a red flag stoppage caused by Jay Howard Driver Development’s Jorge Garciarce, and it was Legacy Autosport’s Simon Sikes who was on top after the first flying laps.

He was edged by Jones and then Cape Motorsports’ Michael d’Orlando, with Thomas Nepveu and Nicky Hays slotting into third and fourth in the opening five minutes.

Pabst Racing’s Jace Denmark was next to go the top by becoming the first driver to lap in the 1m25s and just pipping an improving d’Orlando, then Velocity Racing Development’s Quinn showed his ominous free practice pace by sneaking in a 1m25.7735s lap to go fastest before red flags came out.

There was a break of five minutes before qualifying restarted, and another four minutes before improvements were posted as Pabst’s championship leader Myles Rowe rose to third. He was quickly knocked back down the order as Jones set a 1m24.4479s to go fastest ahead of Nepveu, d’Orlando, Quinn and Bijoy Garg.

Jones got even faster after, meaning when Quinn posted a 1m25.4910s with a minute to go he was still on provisional pole by 0.0656 seconds.

Nepveu couldn’t find any more laptime with his final effort and so Jones was guaranteed pole and with the top three covered by less than a tenth of a second. The top 20 were within a second, with JHDD’s Danny Dyszelski the last of those cars. In addition to Garciarce’s issue, his other team-mate Yeoroo Lee spun at turn one shortly after the restart.

An impressive 11th was the camoeing Chase Gardner, who is debuting with DEForce Racing this weekend then doing a test-only programme ahead of a planned campaign in 2023, and two positions ahead of him was fellow first-timer Joey Brienza.

The fastest laps from qualifying set the grid for race one, while drivers second-best laps will be used to set the race two grid unless they set a faster lap during the opening race. The same applies for setting the race three grid.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m25.4254s 13
2 Alex Quinn Velocity Racing Development 1m25.4910s +0.0656s 12
3 Thomas Nepveu DEForce Racing 1m25.5169s +0.0915s 13
4 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m25.5500s +0.1246s 13
5 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m25.6898s +0.2644s 13
6 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 1m25.8164s +0.3910s 12
7 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 1m25.8174s +0.3920s 13
8 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport 1m25.8652s +0.4398s 10
9 Joey Brienza Exclusive Autosport 1m25.9057s +0.4803s 12
10 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m25.9945s +0.5691s 13
11 Chase Gardner DEForce Racing 1m26.0771s +0.6517s 12
12 Jackson Lee Cape Motorsports 1m26.0838s +0.6584s 13
13 Spike Kohlbecker Turn 3 w/ Ignite Autosport 1m26.1216s +0.6962s 11
14 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m26.1368s +0.7144s 11
15 Dylan Christie DEForce Racing 1m26.1560s +0.7306s 13
16 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports 1m26.1715s +0.7461s 12
17 Viktor Andersson Velocity Racing Development 1m26.2077s +0.7823s 9
18 Nicky Hays Cape Motorsports 1m26.2253s +0.7999s 13
19 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport 1m26.2816s +0.8562s 12
20 Danny Dyszelski JHDD 1m26.3871s +0.9617s 12
21 Frank Mossman JHDD 1m26.8917s +1.4663s 12
22 Yeoroo Lee JHDD 1m27.2405s +1.8151s 5
23 Jorge Garciarce JHDD 1m28.4680s +3.0426s 3