Home Featured Browne snatches Indy Pro 2000 pole from Foster after end of qualifying

Browne snatches Indy Pro 2000 pole from Foster after end of qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Turn 3 Motorsport’s Jonathan Browne claimed a surprise maiden Indy Pro 2000 pole position as he stole top spot away from Exclusive Autosport’s Louis Foster after qualifying finished.

Foster had been the driver to beat pretty much throughout qualifying, although DEForce Racing’s Nolan Siegel set the pace with the early laps that were set, but he was actually unable to match the 1m21.6946s lap he set to put himself ahead with almost half of qualifying still to go.

He got within a tenth or two several times, but it looked like his failure to improve wouldn’t cost him until a minute after the chequered flag was waved as Browne, who had been sat in 10th place, jumped to the top by less than two hundredths of a second.

One of the other pole contenders was Jack William Miller, whose Miller Vinatieri Motorsports team has entered into an alliance with Exclusive, and with 10 minutes to go he was in second place.

Pabst Racing’s Yuven Sundaramoorthy shuffled him to third with five minutes remaining, and he responded with an improved laptime only to be shuffled back down again by points leader Siegel and then Browne. He was just a tenth off pole but down in fourth place, and the top seven were covered by less than a quarter of a second.

Drivers switched to their second runs on fresh tyres in the first half of qualifying, and one driver who spent more time in the pits than most was the debuting Lindsay Brewer as her Exclusive-run was smoking. She got back on track and couldn’t improve her pace, but impressively was only 1.1318s down on Browne with the top 14 ahead of her spread by 0.7338s.

The grids for races two and three will be determined from a combination of the second-best laptimes from qualifying and the fastest laps from race one and then race two.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 1m21.6771s 11
2 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 1m21.6946s +0.0175s 11
3 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m21.7445s +0.0674s 12
4 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m21.7837s +0.1066s 11
5 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m21.7990s +0.1219s 11
6 Reece Gold Juncos Racing 1m21.8401s +0.1630s 11
7 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m21.9145s +0.2374s 12
8 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing 1m22.0823s +0.4052s 12
9 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Racing 1m22.1373s +0.4602s 11
10 Braden Eves JHDD 1m22.1676s +0.4905s 12
11 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m22.3421s +0.6650s 11
12 Salvador De Alba JHDD 1m22.3543s +0.6772s 11
13 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m22.4076s +0.7305s 10
14 Wyatt Brichacek JHDD 1m22.4109s +0.7338s 11
15 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 1m22.8089s +1.1318s 12
16 Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing 1m25.0726s +3.3955s 13