Home Formula FordFFord Festival Jack Kemp wins progression race two, Moreno misses out on semi-final

Jack Kemp wins progression race two, Moreno misses out on semi-final

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Ida Wood

Jack Kemp dominated the second progression race at the Formula Ford Festival as Roberto Moreno’s charge from 20th to ninth was not enough to make the semi-finals.

After starting from pole, Kemp led from start to finish in his Ray GR07 to win by over six seconds.

Vertical Racing’s Robbie Parks fended off a train of cars for second, but an issue with his Ray in the closing stages caused him to slow and miss out on a semi-final berth after dropping to seventh – with a top-six finish required.

Adam Fathers climbed from 16th on the grid to finish second in a Ray GR16, half a second clear of James Hagan, who ran second early on.

After retiring from his in heat in a collision with Lewis Fox, former Formula 1 and IndyCar star Roberto Moreno climbed from 20th to 12th on lap one, but lost several places after taking to the grass to avoid the spinning Adam Higgins at Graham Hill Bend. 

Moreno recovered to finish ninth, and will be in action for Snetterton Speed Shop in Sunday’s Historic final.

Brandon McCaughan finished fourth from the back row of the grid in his Hugh Ried Racing-run car, ahead of Enigma Motorsport’s Chris Knox.

Fox, who was disqualified from his heat for punting off Moreno, had to start last but he was able to snatch sixth and a semi-final spot on the final lap from the ailing Parks.

Higgins eventually slowed with a misfire and joined his father Bob in retiring from the race. Jason Down also retired with a suspected misfire while trying to climb from 21st on the grid.

Peter Barrable retired after damaging his suspension on a kerb, as did Heritage FF1600 champion Jonathan Barnes, who did not complete the opening lap.

Race results (12 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jack Kemp 10m44.172s
2 Adam Fathers AF Racing +6.266s
3 James Hagan +6.840s
4 Brandon McCaughan Hugh Ried Racing +8.103s
5 Chris Knox Enigma Motorsport +8.273s
6 Lewis Fox Team Fox Racing +10.054s
7 Robbie Parks Vertical Racing +11.692s
8 Richard Mendoza Enigma Motorsport +11.945s
9 Roberto Moreno Snetterton Speed Shop +24.298s
10 John Whitbourn +24.896s
11 Vincent Jay TM Racing +29.430s
12 Scott Rawlinson DB Motorsport +31.299s
13 Oliver Chapman OCI +31.331s
14 Kevin Donnelly Oldfield Motorsport +34.123s
15 Brindley Kinch +34.504s
16 Chris Sharples PA Motorsport +39.537s
17 Lorna Vickers Shaws Motorsport +47.401s
18 James Gowens +55.102s
19 Matt Hayes +55.238s
Ret Adam Higgins
Ret Jason Down Getem Racing
Ret Bob Hawkins Springbridge Motorsport
Ret Peter Barrable Wayne Poole Racing
Ret Jonathan Barnes Souley Motorsport
Fastest lap: McCaughan, 52.108s