Home Featured Iwasa takes his first Formula 2 pole in Hungary

Iwasa takes his first Formula 2 pole in Hungary

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

DAMS’ Ayumu Iwasa claimed his maiden Formula 2 pole position at the Hungaroring thanks to a brilliant late lap that put him almost four tenths clear of the field.

Hitech GP driver Marcus Armstrong was the first driver to set a competitive laptime in qualifying, but his benchmark was soon bettered by ART Grand Prix duo Frederik Vesti and Theo Pourchaire.

Championship leader Felipe Drugovich set a lap within 21 thousands of a second of Vesti’s benchmark to go second fastest, before heading into the pits for a new set of soft tyres.

Iwasa stayed out on track longer than most, but his different approach concluded with him down in ninth place.

Campos Racing’s Olli Caldwell did make good use of the empty track and went fastest with over 10 minutes remaining on the clock. Unfortunately, that lap would only be good enough for 13th place at the end of the session.

Again, Armstrong set the fastest lap on the first lap of the second set of tyres. The New Zealander was 0.056s clear of Pourchaire and 0.070s clear of Carlin’s Logan Sargeant ahead of the last attempt for each driver.

With under three minutes to go, no one seemed to have enough life in their tyres to beat Armstrong. MP Motorsport’s Drugovich was the biggest gainer, moving up from seventh to second place.

However, it is not over until the chequered flag came out was pole actually settled, as a blistering lap from Iwasa awarded him pole by 0.381s. His team Roy Nissany only qualified 21st, while Drugovich’s team-mate Clement Novalak was 19th fastest.

Virtuosi Racing’s Jack Doohan ended qualifying in 10th place and therefore will start on reversed-grid pole for the sprint race. Charouz Racing System’s Enzo Fittipaldi will line up alongside Doohan on the front row on Saturday.

Several drivers had laps cancelled for exceeding track limits, but that didn’t impact the final results of qualifying.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m27.930s 14
2 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m28.311s +0.381s 12
3 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m28.340s +0.410s 12
4 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m28.359s +0.429s 12
5 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m28.381s +0.451s 13
6 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m28.391s +0.461s 12
7 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m28.562s +0.632s 12
8 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m28.604s +0.674s 12
9 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m28.686s +0.756s 13
10 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m28.691s +0.761s 13
11 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m28.750s +0.820s 13
12 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m28.786s +0.856s 12
13 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m28.803s +0.873s 10
14 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m28.840s +0.919s 13
15 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m29.018s +1.088s 12
16 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m29.102s +1.172s 13
17 David Beckmann Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.343s +1.413s 15
18 Calan Williams Trident 1m29.346s +1.416s 14
19 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m29.481s +1.551s 13
20 Roberto Merhi Campos Racing 1m29.547s +1.617s 11
21 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m29.606s +1.676s 14
22 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.792s +1.862s 14