Home Formula 3GB3 Granfors continues to set the pace in GB3 testing at Silverstone

Granfors continues to set the pace in GB3 testing at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Joel Granfors continued to lead the way on the second day of GB3 pre-event testing on Silverstone’s Grand Prix layout.

The Fortec Motorsports driver headed the first two sessions of Friday, setting a best lap of 1m53.297s during the morning, albeit over 0.7 seconds shy of his Thursday benchmark.

His title rival Luke Browning was once again the closest challenger, also setting his best effort in the first session to end up 0.236s adrift. The Hitech GP driver was fastest in a shortened final session with a lap 0.021s off his morning time.

Elite Motorsport showed signs of repeating its strong form from GB3’s previous Silverstone visit in May, with Tom Lebbon third ahead of team-mates John Bennett and James Hedley, the latter having returned to the team following a one-off appearance for JHR Developments at Spa-Francorchamps last weekend. All three’s best times came in session one.

Arden’s Nico Christodoulou only took part in the second and third sessions, setting his best lap in the latter to be sixth quickest. Carlin’s Callum Voisin and Roberto Faria improved during the final minutes of the day’s running to be seventh and eighth.

Nikolas Taylor continued to set the GB4 pace in GB4, which shared the track with GB3 in all three sessions. The Fortec driver set a 2m01.482s in session one ahead of Hillspeed’s Megan Gilkes. Despite lapping 0.6 slower in session two, Taylor again topped the times ahead of Kevin Mills Racing’s Jarrod Waberski.

The South African continued his strong pace from Thursday, topping the final session with a 2m01.637s to end the day second quickest.

Gilkes and team-mate Max Marzorati’s session one times were good enough be third and fourth overall.

A trip into the gravel for Graham Brunton Racing’s Chloe Grant triggered the day’s only red flag in session two.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 1m53.297s 44
2 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m53.533s 0.236s 41
3 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport 1m53.575s 0.278s 40
4 John Bennett Elite Motorsport 1m53.712s 0.415s 43
5 James Hedley Elite Motorsport 1m53.733s 0.436s 38
6 Nico Christodoulou Arden Motorsport 1m53.836s 0.539s 19
7 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m53.866s 0.569s 42
8 Roberto Faria Carlin 1m53.910s 0.613s 39
9 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport 1m53.914s 0.617s 40
10 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m53.917s 0.620s 41
11 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m53.978s 0.681s 39
12 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing 1m54.025s 0.728s 41
13 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport 1m54.061s 0.764s 36
14 Bryce Aron Hitech GP 1m54.121s 0.824s 41
15 David Morales Arden Motorsport 1m54.347s 1.050s 38
16 Alex Connor Arden Motorsport 1m54.460s 1.163s 41
17 Javier Sagrera Carlin 1m54.546s 1.249s 43
18 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed 1m54.582s 1.285s 41
19 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing 1m54.690s 1.393s 40
20 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport 1m54.766s 1.469s 44
21 Zak Taylor Fortec Motorsports 1m54.977s 1.680s 37
22 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports 1m55.393s 2.096s 44
23 Ayrton Ori Chris Dittmann Racing 1m56.870s 3.573s 41
1 Nikolas Taylor Fortec Motorsports 2m01.462s 42
2 Jarrod Waberski Kevin Mills Racing 2m01.637s 0.175s 39
3 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed 2m01.664s 0.202s 41
4 Max Marzorati Hillspeed 2m02.210s 0.748s 41
5 Jack Sherwood Elite Motorsport 2m02.864s 1.222s 38
6 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing 2m02.692s 1.230s 39
7 Jessica Edgar Fortec Motorsports 2m03.070s 1.608s 42
8 Marcus Short Hillspeed 2m03.107s 1.645s 41
9 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing 2m03.298s 1.836s 34
10 Chloe Grant Graham Brunton Racing 2m04.183s 2.721s 37
11 Christian Lester Rosso Verde Racing 2m05.535s 4.073s 32