Home Featured Iwasa fastest in Monaco F2 practice with three red flags

Iwasa fastest in Monaco F2 practice with three red flags

by Peter Allen

Photo: Red Bull

Ayumu Iwasa topped Formula 2 Monaco practice session that was red-flagged three times due to crashes.

Iwasa went fastest with a time of 1m22.081s, 0.046s quicker than previous pacesetter Victor Martins, inside the final two minutes of the 45-minute session.

Running was then brought to an early halt by the third and final red flag of the session after Richard Verschoor – who was third-fastest at the time – found the barriers at Portier.

Ollie Bearman, who both races on the streets of Baku last time out, earlier crashed in exactly the same place to bring an early end to his first ever session in Monaco.

The strangest incident however had come within the first 10 minutes when Ralph Boschung and Roman Stanek collided with each other and then the barriers at the final corner, ending both their sessions.

Martins, who last drove in Monaco three years ago in Formula Renault Eurocup, originally went fastest with seven minutes left on the clock and found a further improvement a couple of laps later.

Arthur Leclerc, driving his home streets in anger for the first time, set the fourth-fastest time behind Verschoor and ahead of Dennis Hauger.

Enzo Fittipaldi took sixth in front of Jack Doohan, who had set the pace at the time of Bearman’s crash in the middle of the session. Kush Maini and Frederik Vesti came next with Theo Pourchaire, a former polesitter and winner in Monaco, a relatively quiet 10th.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m22.081s 21
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m22.127s +0.046s 20
3 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.254s +0.173s 21
4 Arthur Leclerc DAMS 1m22.407s +0.326s 21
5 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m22.569s +0.488s 21
6 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin 1m22.591s +0.510s 21
7 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 1m22.650s +0.569s 20
8 Kush Maini Campos Racing 1m22.711s +0.630s 21
9 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m22.730s +0.649s 21
10 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m23.010s +0.929s 18
11 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport 1m23.136s +1.055s 23
12 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m23.189s +1.108s 21
13 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m23.203s +1.122s 21
14 Clement Novalak Trident 1m23.284s +1.203s 21
15 Roy Nissany PHM by Charouz 1m23.556s +1.475s 20
16 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m23.584s +1.503s 22
17 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m23.620s +1.539s 21
18 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing 1m23.904s +1.823s 21
19 Brad Benavides PHM by Charouz 1m24.554s +2.473s 20
20 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m25.264s +3.183s 10
21 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m26.887s +4.806s 5
22 Roman Stanek Trident 1m39.617s +17.536s 4