Home Formula 4Italian F4 Italian F4 reverts back to usual format at Vallelunga after drop-outs

Italian F4 reverts back to usual format at Vallelunga after drop-outs

by Peter Allen

Photo: ACI Sport

The Italian Formula 4 Championship will have three races as usual after all at Vallelunga this weekend after some late drop-outs brought the field back within the circuit’s capacity.

The field had been set to grow from 36 to 39 cars this weekend and with Vallelunga only having capacity for 37, organisers had been set to split the field into groups for the first time since 2016 with four races originally scheduled.

However, absences from both Van Amersfoort Racing driver Arias Deukmedjian and Jenzer Motorsport’s Alex Partyshev mean the schedule has been reverted to three races.

A 38th car did take part in Thursday’s test sessions in the hands of Niko Lacorte with Iron Lynx, but he will not compete until later in the season.

The split-field format could still be required should the field grow again for the next round at the Red Bull Ring, which also has capacity for 37 cars.

Two drivers will make their debuts this weekend with British F4 driver Adam Fitzgerald replacing Marcos Flack at R-ace GP and Nelson Neto, who took part in the inaugural Brazilian F4 round last month, coming in for Ricardo Escotto at Cram. AS Motorsport duo Giovanni Maschio and Manuel Quondamcarlo return after missing the trip to Spa.

Thursday’s test was split into two sessions of four hours, with Prema’s Andrea Kimi Antonelli recording the fastest time of 1m34.725s around midway through the morning.

Alex Dunne had set a series of quickest laps in the first hour of running and his best was only 0.055 seconds slower than Antonelli’s effort.

Championship leader Rafael Camara was third fastest in the morning and narrowly improved upon his time in the day’s final hour of running to top the afternoon ranking, remaining third overall.

He was followed closely by Dunne’s US Racing team-mates Marcus Amand, Nikhil Bohra and Kacper Sztuka.

The final driver to get underneath 1m35s was Taylor Barnard, who took fourth in the afternoon session after his PHM Racing team missed the morning running entirely.

Antonelli and Dunne took sixth and seventh in the afternoon session ahead of Prema’s James Wharton and Charlie Wurz. Martinius Stenshorne was the fastest VAR driver in 10th, with his best time matched to the thousandth of a secod by Iron Lynx’s Ferrari junior Maya Weug.

Testing results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema Racing 1m34.725s 99
2 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m34.780s +0.055s 71
3 Rafael Camara Prema Racing 1m34.837s +0.112s 94
4 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m34.855s +0.130s 129
5 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m34.856s +0.131s 114
6 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m34.880s +0.155s 109
7 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m34.997s +0.272s 52
8 Charlie Wurz Prema Racing 1m35.068s +0.343s 98
9 James Wharton Prema Racing 1m35.070s +0.345s 99
10 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.134s +0.409s 93
11 Maya Weug Iron Dames 1m35.134s +0.409s 99
12 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.136s +0.411s 113
13 Emerson Fittipaldi Jr Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.189s +0.464s 111
14 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 1m35.248s +0.523s 60
15 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m35.313s +0.588s 55
16 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m35.314s +0.589s 94
17 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m35.355s +0.630s 94
18 Conrad Laursen Prema Racing 1m35.417s +0.692s 99
19 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport 1m35.465s +0.740s 110
20 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsport 1m35.564s +0.839s 79
21 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.647s +0.922s 76
22 Nicola Lacorte Iron Lynx 1m35.700s +0.975s 110
23 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.744s +1.019s 113
24 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m35.797s +1.072s 101
25 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m35.801s +1.076s 50
26 Adam Fitzgerald R-ace GP 1m35.891s +1.166s 107
27 William Karlsson BVM Racing 1m35.976s +1.251s 86
28 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing 1m36.013s +1.288s 94
29 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m36.093s +1.368s 96
30 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.140s +1.415s 73
31 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m36.373s +1.648s 57
32 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m36.381s +1.656s 110
33 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsport 1m36.567s +1.842s 95
34 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport 1m36.626s +1.901s 102
35 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m36.839s +2.114s 73
36 Nicholas Monteiro Cram Motorsport 1m36.859s +2.134s 108
37 Nelson Neto Cram Motorsport 1m37.030s +2.305s 100
38 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport 1m37.167s +2.442s 100