Home Formula 4Italian F4 Dennis Hauger takes triple Italian F4 pole at Hungaroring

Dennis Hauger takes triple Italian F4 pole at Hungaroring

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Dennis Hauger took all three poles for the Italian Formula 4 round at the Hungaroring.

The Red Bull junior narrowly topped the first qualifying session, but had a clear margin in the second session which set the grid for the second and third races.

Jesse Salmenautio was the surprise early pacesetter, and it was Prema’s Paul Aron who was at the front when the first qualifying session was red flagged when Gregoire Saucy crashed at Turn 5.

It resumed with five minutes to go, with Hauger quickly demoting Aron from first. Championship leader Gianluca Petecof then took over the top spot as the chequered flag fell, but in the final seconds Hauger got back ahead by 0.072 seconds.

Aron was third, ahead of Sauber junior Roman Stanek, Mikhail Belov and Alessandro Famularo.

Hauger established more of a gap in the second session, where Prema’s Oliver Rasmussen and Bhaitech’s Belov completed the front row based on fastest and second fastest times.

Belov will start third for race two, with Hauger’s team-mate Niklas Krutten filling the front spot of the second row for the third race.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Jonny Edgar had a strong session, making it into the top six both times and level with rookie rivals Aron and Stanek.

Qualifying round-up
Race 1 grid
1 Dennis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing 1m42.896s
2 Gianluca Petecof Prema +0.072s
3 Paul Aron Prema +0.327s
4 Roman Stanek US Racing +0.364s
5 Mikhail Belov Bhaitech +0.373s
6 Alessandro Famularo Prema +0.644s
7 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +0.850s
8 Niklas Krutten Van Amersfoort Racing +0.909s
9 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +0.950s
10 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +0.954s

Race 2 grid
1 Hauger 1m42.661s
2 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +0.561s
3 Belov +0.632s
4 Aron +0.665s
5 Jonny Edgar Jenzer Motorsport +0.686s
6 Petecof +0.704s
7 Stanek +0.724s
8 Krutten +0.732s
9 Famularo +0.884s
10 Duerksen +1.100s

Race 3 grid
1 Hauger 1m43.182s
2 Belov +0.145s
3 Krutten +0.218s
4 Petecof +0.284s
5 Stanek +0.369s
6 Edgar +0.409s
7 Aron +0.420s
8 Rasmussen +0.606s
9 Duerksen +0.623s
10 Umberto Laganella Bhaitech +0.688s