Home Featured Ilott beats Lundgaard for pole at second Silverstone F2 round

Ilott beats Lundgaard for pole at second Silverstone F2 round

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Callum Ilott became the first driver to claim two pole positions in the 2020 Formula 2 championship as he qualified fastest for the second event at his home circuit Silverstone.

The Virtuosi Racing driver was outside the top 10 after the second round of flying laps, but jumped up to pole on his third lap.

The 1m39.062s time around the Silverstone circuit was enough to put him 0.115s clear of Christian Lundgaard, who had set the pace through most of the session.

A spin for Sean Gelael in the closing stages of the session brought out the yellow flags in sector two, hindering most of the field on their final flying laps.

Lundgaard had already passed the scene of the incident when Gelael spun and was able to put in one final flying lap, but couldn’t find any improvement.

He lines up second on the grid ahead of Jack Aitken, Dan Ticktum and Luca Ghiotto.

Ilott’s team-mate Guanyu Zhou was one of the drivers hurt most by Gelael’s spin. He set the best first sector of the session on his final lap, but the yellow flags meant he couldn’t improve his lap time and he ended up sixth.

It was another dismal session for championship leader Robert Shwartzman, who will line up 10 positions behind his closest title challenger when he starts eleventh in tomorrow’s race. Shwartzman had been in the top five after the opening laps, but dropped backwards as lap times improved. He was 0.463s slower than Ilott.

Team-mate Mick Schumacher also struggled to a lesser degree, finishing eighth overall behind last week’s feature race winner Nikita Mazepin.

Louis Deletraz and Yuki Tsunoda, who were in the top three after the first set of flying laps, ended the session ninth and 10th.

Lundgaard’s ART team-mate Marcus Armstrong, who last scored points at the Red Bull Ring, could only manage 20th.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Callum Ilott Virtuosi 1m39.062s
2 Christian Lundgaard ART 1m39.177s +0.115s
3 Jack Aitken Campos 1m39.278s +0.216s
4 Dan Ticktum DAMS 1m39.326s +0.264s
5 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 1m39.362s +0.300s
6 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m39.394s +0.332s
7 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 1m39.410s +0.348s
8 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m39.448s +0.386s
9 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1m39.474s +0.412s
10 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m39.494s +0.432s
11 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m39.525s +0.463s
12 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m39.526s +0.464s
13 Pedro Piquet Charouz 1m39.621s +0.559s
14 Marino Sato Trident 1m39.679s +0.617s
15 Sean Gelael DAMS 1m39.783s +0.721s
16 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m39.790s +0.728s
17 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 1m39.961s +0.899s
18 Artem Markelov HWA 1m40.094s +1.032s
20 Marcus Armstrong ART 1m40.299s +1.237s
19 Giuliano Alesi HWA 1m40.485s +1.424s
21 Roy Nissany Trident 1m40.615s +1.553s
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos 1m41.061s +1.999s