Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Igor Fraga takes first Toyota Racing Series win at Hampton Downs

Igor Fraga takes first Toyota Racing Series win at Hampton Downs

by Ida Wood

M2 Competition’s Igor Fraga took his first Toyota Racing Series win in the opening race at Hampton Downs.

The race-winning move was made at the start of the race, with Fraga making an incredible start to launch down the inside of MTEC Motorsport by R-ace GP poleman Petr Ptacek and M2 team-mate Liam Lawson.

Lawson ended up boxed in and was shuffled down to fifth, while Ptacek really struggled for pace in the opening laps.

There was a safety car period during this time after Spike Kohlbecker punted Emilien Denner out of the race on the opening lap, and Fraga controlled the restart perfectly to escape.

Lawson passed Franco Colapinto for fourth fairly quickly, and followed Caio Collet onto Ptacek’s tail. He moved past Collet down the inside of the first corner a few laps later, then needed even more patience to get ahead of a more comfortable Ptacek.

Fraga has a several seconds lead by this point, and it only decreased slightly in the second half of the race. The Brazilian ended up winning the race by 2.854 seconds, and cutting down Lawson’s points lead in the process.

A valuable first podium went to Ptacek in third, comfortably ahead of Collet and Colapinto.

Red Bull junior Yuki Tsunoda could only manage seventh behind Oliver Rasmussen, but was at least more pleased than Lirim Zendeli in 10thl


Race results (20 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Igor Fraga M2 Competition 22m06.478s
2 Liam Lawson M2 Competition +2.854s
3 Petr Ptacek MTEC by R-ace GP +4.526s
4 Caio Collet MTEC by R-ace GP +5.530s
5 Franco Colapinto Kiwi Motorsport +6.683s
6 Oliver Rasmussen Giles Motorsport +8.100s
7 Yuki Tsunoda M2 Competition +9.840s
8 Jackson Walls MTEC by R-ace GP +11.011s
9 Gregoire Saucy Giles Motorsport +13.010s
10 Lirim Zendeli Giles Motorsport +13.504s
11 Ido Cohen M2 Competition +15.264s
12 Henning Enqvist Giles Motorsport +16.132s
13 Lucas Petersson MTEC by R-ace GP +19.663s
14 Rui Andrade M2 Competition +20.480s
15 Tijmen van der Helm Kiwi Motorsport +20.803s
16 Spike Kohlbecker Kiwi Motorsport +31.218s
17 Axel Gnos Kiwi Motorsport +37.394s
Ret Emilien Denner M2 Competition
Fastest lap: Lawson, 1m01.281s

Championship standings
1 Lawson 184? ?2 Fraga 171? ?3 Saucy 132? ?4 Tsunoda 130? ?5 Colapinto 128? ?6 Zendeli 116? ?7 Collet 107? ?8 Ptacek 102? ?9 Cohen 91? ?10 Rasmussen 70