Home Featured Fraga claims TRS lead with Denny Hulme Memorial Trophy win

Fraga claims TRS lead with Denny Hulme Memorial Trophy win

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Toyota Racing NZ

Igor Fraga is the new Toyota Racing Series leader as a result of winning the Denny Hulme Memorial Trophy at Hampton Downs, as Liam Lawson retired.

Fraga sustained a heavy challenge from Lawson, especially after the first of three safety car periods. Lawson tried to go around the outside of Fraga at Turn 1 in a similar fashion to his successful pass on Oliver Rasmussen in race two.

The New Zealand driver kept on Fraga’s tail but disaster struck when he suffered a loss of power, a repeating issue at M2 Competition, and was hit into retirement by the rapidly approaching Spike Kohlbecker.

Fraga kept Giles Motorsport’s Gregoire Saucy and M2 team-mate Yuki Tsunoda behind him for the rest of the race, with two more safety car periods (the latter which turned into a brief red flag) interrupting proceedings.

The result of Fraga’s second win of the weekend is that he moves into a clear lead over Lawson, while Tsunoda rises into third in the standings.

MTEC Motorsport by R-ace GP’s Caio Collet finished the race in fourth after being able to hold of Giles Motorsport’s Lirim Zendeli.

Zendeli’s team-mate Henning Enqvist was able to beat Swedish compatriot Lucas Petersson to sixth, while race two winner Franco Colapinto had to settle for eighth place and a drop to fifth in the points after an early spin.

MTEC duo Oliver Rasmussen and Petr Ptacek completed the top 10, benefiting from the crazy final safety car period caused by the midfield pack colliding on the restart from the second safety car period due to being so close. Just 12 cars finished in the end.


Race results (25 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Igor Fraga M2 Competition 33m23.802s
2 Gregoire Saucy Giles Motorsport +0.744s
3 Yuki Tsunoda M2 Competition +1.250s
4 Caio Collet MTEC by R-ace GP +1.997s
5 Lirim Zendeli Giles Motorsport +2.245s
6 Henning Enqvist Giles Motorsport +3.500s
7 Lucas Petersson MTEC by R-ace GP +3.997s
8 Franco Colapinto Kiwi Motorsport +4.548s
9 Oliver Rasmussen MTEC by R-ace GP +5.209s
10 Petr Ptacek MTEC by R-ace GP +6.524s
11 Tijmen van der Helm Kiwi Motorsport +6.576s
12 Jackson Walls MTEC by R-ace GP +7.223s
Ret Rui Andrade Kiwi Motorsport
Ret Axel Gnos Kiwi Motorsport
Ret Ido Cohen M2 Competition
Ret Liam Lawson M2 Competition
Ret Spike Kohlbecker Kiwi Motorsport
Ret Emilien Denner M2 Competition
Fastest lap: Fraga, 1m01.624s

Championship standings
1?Fraga 218 ??2 Lawson 202 ??3 Tsunoda 171? ?4 Saucy 170? ?5 Colapinto 164 ? 6 Zendeli 146 ??7 Collet 140 ??8 Ptacek 124 ??9 Rasmussen 100? ?10 Cohen 91