Home Formula 3GB3 Hughes handed win after Robertson and Hyman are excluded

Hughes handed win after Robertson and Hyman are excluded

by Peter Allen
Jake Hughes

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Jake Hughes took his first win in BRDC Formula 4 in race three at Snetterton after HHC Motorsport duo Charlie Robertson and Raoul Hyman were excluded from a one-two finish.

After starting from pole position, Robertson had recorded his second win of the season but he and team-mate Hyman were excluded from the results ‘for a technical infrigement concerning the attachment method of the rear gurney (part of the rear wing assembly).’

Race one winner James Fletcher inherited second place ahead of Jake Dalton. Seb Morris took fourth with Gustavo Lima fifth and Falco Wauer sixth.

Jack Barlow and Pietro Fittipaldi started from the seventh row of the grid but were classified seventh and ninth in the results, with race two winner Struan Moore taking eighth. Diego Menchaca ended up with the final point in tenth.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Hughes Lanan Racing 10 laps in 18:52.373
2 James Fletcher Team KBS +2.704
3 Jake Dalton MGR Motorsport +3.353
4 Seb Morris Hillspeed +3.996
5 Gustavo Lima HHC Motorsport +4.585
6 Falco Wauer Team KBSports +10.251
7 Jack Barlow Sean Walkinshaw Racing +13.344
8 Struan Moore Hillspeed +14.206
9 Pietro Fittipaldi MGR Motorsport +14.328
10 Diego Menchaca MGR Motorsport +16.566
11 Matthew Graham Sean Walkinshaw Racing +16.695
12 James Greenway Frank T Greenway Racing +17.039
13 Ross Gunn Motionsport +18.194
14 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +28.036
15 Malgosia Rdest Douglas Motorsport +52.554
16 Simon Rudd Motionsport +59.731
17 Daniel Headlam Lanan Racing +1:08.246
Not classified
  Charlie Robertson HHC Motorsport Disqualified
  Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport Disqualified
  Matt Bell MattRBell Racing Team E-Lites 5 laps
Zou Si Rui Sean Walkinshaw Racing 0 laps