Home Formula 3Euroformula Mason wins in Jerez once again

Mason wins in Jerez once again

by Gruz David

Photo: F3 Open/Fotospeedy

Nelson Mason completed a double victory in round four of the F3 Open in Jerez.

After Saturday, Sunday’s qualification saw another dominant performance from the two teammates, Ed Jones and Mason. This time the Canadian had to settle with second place as Jones was faster than him by a tenth.

The race got underway under extremely hot conditions as Jones was able to stay in first position. He kept it for four laps, before Mason overtook him on the fifth lap and he never gave it away after. Jones finished closely behind Mason, however, he has to leave Jerez with two second places.

Behind the two of them, once again, four RP Motorsport cars fought for the podium. This time Alexandre Cougnaud was the best, followed by championship leader Sandy Stuvik, Santiago Urrutia and Alex Toril.

Despite BVM’s Mario Marasca having a storming start, he had to settle with the seventh place with Hector Hurst, Vicky Piria and Andr?s Saravia completing the top ten.

Tommaso Menchini won his second Copa class race closely followed by local driver Igor Urien and Nicolas Pohler from Germany.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nelson Mason Team West-Tec 18 laps in 30:42.334
2 Ed Jones Team West-Tec +0.906
3 Alexandre Cougnaud RP Motorsport +5.399
4 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport +8.283
5 Santiago Urrutia RP Motorsport +11.593
6 Alex Toril RP Motorsport +12.195
7 Mario Marasca BVM +21.781
8 Hector Hurst EmillioDeVillota +22.810
9 Vicky Piria BVM +23.808
10 Andr?s Saravia EmillioDeVillota +29.616
11 Valeria Carballo Campos Racing +33.416
12 Tommaso Menchini Corbetta Competizioni +35.262
13 Denis Nagulin Campos Racing +36.536
14 Igor Urien EmillioDeVillota +38.365
15 Nicholas Pohler DAV Racing +39.105
16 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +39.686
17 Gerardo Nieto DAV Racing +46.068
18 Che One Lim EmillioDeVillota +48.896
19 Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Competizioni +51.577
20 Liam Venter Team West-Tec +58.329
21 Alexey Chuklin EmillioDeVillota +58.740
22 Artur Janosz Campos Racing +58.993
23 Luca Orlandi Team West-Tec +1:04.399
24 Lorenzo Paggi Corbetta Competizioni +1:04.928
25 Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec +1:06.002
26 Huan Zhu Team West-Tec +1:07.288
27 Trino Rojas RP Motorsport +1:07.737
28 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport +1:42.661
29 Yarin Stern EmillioDeVillota +2 laps
Not classified
Richard Gonda Drivex School 6 laps