Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Kirchhofer secures race three win at Lausitz

Kirchhofer secures race three win at Lausitz

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: formel3.de

Lotus driver Marvin Kirchhofer maintained his record of winning in every round of the 2013 German F3 season, securing a victory in race three of the fifth round at Lausitz.

The race marked one of Kirchhofer’s harder wins, as the German again lost out to teammate Emil Bernstorff off the line. It took the German 17 laps to take the lead back, with Bernstorff settling for second and Artem Markelov completing the eighth Lotus 1-2-3 of the year in third.

Gustavo Menezes was fourth, which promoted him to that very spot in the championship as he cleared John Bryant-Meisner, who continued to struggle with well-being and finished in seventh. Matteo Cairoli and Thomas Jager were the drivers who finished between the two.

In the Trophy class, Sebastian Balthasar took another win, finishing tenth overall.

In the standings, Kirchhofer leads with 277 points with four rounds to go. Markelov sits in second with 192 points, nine ahead of Bernstorff.

Race results
Pos. Driver Cl. Team Time/Gap
1 Marvin Kirchhofer C Lotus 23 laps in 30:52.391
2 Emil Bernstorff C Lotus +1.237
3 Artem Markelov C Lotus +1.651
4 Gustavo Menezes C Van Amersfoort +6.610
5 Matteo Cairoli C ADM Motorsport +10.063
6 Thomas Jager C Performance Racing +20.152
7 John Bryant-Meisner C Performance Racing +28.730
8 Jordi Weckx C Van Amersfoort +45.125
9 Nabil Jeffri C EuroInternational +53.311
10 Sebastian Balthasar T GU-Racing +53.319
11 Sheban Siddiqi C Lotus +1 lap
12 Maximilian Hackl T Frank Woss Racing +1 lap
13 Christian Zeller T CR Racing Team +1 lap
14 Michael Aberer T Aberer Motorsport +1 lap
15 Andreas Germann T CR Racing Team +2 laps
16 Thomas Warken T CR Racing Team +2 laps
17 Luca Iannaccone T Aberer Motorsport +2 laps
18 Hubertus-Carlos Vier T TTC Motorsport +2 laps
DNS Freddy Killensberger T GU-Racing