Home News Huertas claims surprise race two win at drenched Aragon

Huertas claims surprise race two win at drenched Aragon

by Peter Allen

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

Carlos Huertas produced a controlled drive in atrocious conditions to take a surprise win in the second Formula Renault 3.5 race at an extremely wet Motorland Aragon.

The Carlin driver had qualified second in the earlier rain-affected session, and inherited the lead when Norman Nato skated off at the first corner once the green flag was shown after a safety car start.

Huertas then took advantage of the clear track ahead of him without any spray to open up a healthy advantage desipte an off-track encounter, crossing the line nearly 12 seconds ahead of anyone else.

His cause was helped when the two drivers behind him, Sergey Sirotkin and Stoffel Vandoorne, had a moment together. Vandoorne slid down the inside of Sirotkin’s ISR car at the end of the back straight but went far too deep, but did manage to keep hold of third. Arthur Pic had started the race between the pair, but slowed to a halt after just one lap behind the safety car.

Will Stevens kept Nico Muller at bay to add a fourth place to his second from Saturday, while Nigel Melker passed?Antonio Felix da Costa around the outside in the closing moments to snatch sixth.

Christopher Zanella had been running eighth but stopped on track with a few minutes to go, promoting Andre Negrao. Saturday’s dominant winner Kevin Magnussen fought his way back to finish ninth after starting at the rear, while fellow Dane?Marco Sorensen beat Mikhail Aleshin to tenth.

Magnussen holds the championship lead after two meetings with 63 points to Vandoorne’s 59. Despite his non-finish, Pic has jumped Felix da Costa for third with Stevens and Sirotkin only a point behind the Red Bull man. The Monaco Grand Prix support race is next up.

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Carlos Huertas Carlin 14 laps in 33:19.005
2 Sergey Sirotkin ISR +11.921
3 Stoffel Vandoorne Fortec Motorsports +16.429
4 Will Stevens P1 by Strakka Racing +24.691
5 Nico Muller International Draco Racing +26.826
6 Nigel Melker Tech 1 Racing +36.735
7 Antonio Felix Da Costa Arden Caterham +42.074
8 Andre Negrao International Draco Racing +44.125
9 Kevin Magnussen DAMS +44.988
10 Marco Sorensen Lotus +55.215
11 Mikhail Aleshin Tech 1 Racing +1:00.192
12 Jazeman Jaafar Carlin +1:00.787
13 Yann Cunha AV Formula +1:17.038
14 Matias Laine P1 by Strakka Racing +1:22.401
15 Daniil Move SMP Racing by Comtec +1:34.292
16 Lucas Foresti SMP Racing by Comtec +1:36.191
17 Oliver Webb Fortec Motorsports +1:44.026
18 Pietro Fantin Arden Caterham +1:45.955
19 Zoel Amberg Pons Racing +1:48.671
20 Norman Nato DAMS +1:55.868
21 Nikolai Martsenko Pons Racing +2:10.822
22 Matheo Tuscher Zeta Corse +1 lap
Not Classified
8 Christopher Zanella ISR 9 laps
23 Mihai Marinescu Zeta Corse 5 laps
27 Arthur Pic AV Formula 1 lap
10 Marlon Stockinger Lotus 0 laps