Home Formula 3GB3 Barlow beats Morris to claim victory in second car race

Barlow beats Morris to claim victory in second car race

by Peter Allen

Photo: BRDC F4

Karting graduate Jack Barlow won a race-long battle with Seb Morris to win race two at the BRDC F4 curtain-raiser at Silverstone, which was just his second car race.

Starting third, Barlow made a superb start to get the jump on front-row starters Diego Menchaca and Struan Moore and lead into Copse. Morris also started well to get up into second from sixth, and successfully made a move on Barlow for the lead on lap three.

Barlow came back at Morris though, re-taking the lead at Stowe with two laps to go to claim victory. Morris held off Jake Dalton to finish second, Dalton having been close to the leading pair throughout the race.

Race one winner Matt Bell was fourth ahead of early weekend pace-setter Jake Hughes. Barlow’s SWR team-mate Matthew Graham took sixth and also set the fastest lap of the two races so far to secure pole for race three.

Charlie Robertson finished seventh while Moore held off the advances of both Pietro Fittipaldi and Falco Wauer (who charged from 19th on the grid) to claim eighth.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jack Barlow Sean Walkinshaw Racing 10 laps in 21:09.952
2 Seb Morris Hillspeed +0.818
3 Jake Dalton MGR Motorsport +1.745
4 Matt Bell MattRBell Racing Team E-Lites +2.793
5 Jake Hughes Lanan Racing +5.906
6 Matthew Graham Sean Walkinshaw Racing +7.332
7 Charlie Robertson HHC Motorsport +8.039
8 Struan Moore Hillspeed +17.196
9 Pietro Fittipaldi MGR Motorsport +17.679
10 Falco Wauer Team KBSports +20.466
11 Sennan Fielding Douglas Motorsport +21.723
12 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +22.235
13 Ross Gunn Motionsport +28.059
14 Zou Si Rui Sean Walkinshaw Racing +30.549
15 Daniel Headlam Lanan Racing +39.868
16 James Greenway Frank T Greenway Racing +41.191
17 Malgosia Rdest Douglas Motorsport +56.764
18 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +57.746
Not classified
Gustavo Lima HHC Motorsport 2 laps
Simon Rudd Motionsport 1 lap
Diego Menchaca MGR Motorsport 0 laps