Home Formula 4French F4 Honda junior Souta Arao flies in French F4 free practice at Spa

Honda junior Souta Arao flies in French F4 free practice at Spa

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Roger Gascoigne

Souta Arao set a scorching pace in French Formula 4 free practice at Spa-Francorchamps, going over a second faster than anyone else on his first visit to the Belgian track.

The Red Bull Junior Team-supported Honda junior jumped to the top of the times halfway through the 30-minute session on Thursday morning, before improving to close with a best time of 2m25.746s.

The session featured some unusual names appearing near the top with Enzo Geraci second fastest and Mateo Villagomez, currently 18th in the standings, in fourth after briefly going to the top of the timing screen early on.

Alessandro Giusti split the two in third, with championship leader Hugh Barter surpringly back in fifth place. Barter is ineligible to score points at Spa having competed at the circuit in the Spanish F4 championship earlier this year.

Pierre-Alexandre Provost and Yuto Nomura, a junior driver of Honda and Red Bull, followed in sixth and seventh.

Behind Souta, less than a second separated second place down to Elliott Vayron in eighth.

After two incidents brought Wednesday’s final private practice to an early conclusion, the free practice session passed without incident, running under green flag consitions for its duration.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Time Gap Laps
1 Souta Arao 2m25.746s 12
2 Enzo Geraci 2m26.825s +1.079s 12
3 Alessandro Giusti 2m27.056s +1.310s 12
4 Mateo Villagomez 2m27.140s +1.394s 13
5 Hugh Barter 2m27.251s +1.505s 13
6 Pierre-Alexandre Provost 2m27.406s +1.660s 12
7 Yuto Nomura 2m27.510s +1.764s 12
8 Elliott Vayron 2m27.804s +2.058s 8
9 Enzo Peugeot 2m27.931s +2.185s 11
10 Louis Pelet 2m27.963s +2.217s 12
11 Jeronimo Berrio 2m27.987s +2.241s 10
12 Romain Andriolo 2m28.061s +2.315s 12
13 Leny Reveillere 2m28.080s +2.334s 12
14 Enzo Richer 2m28.096s +2.350s 12
15 Edgar Pierre 2m28.389s +2.643s 12
16 Dario Cabanelas 2m28.800s +3.054s 12
17 Pablo Sarrazin 2m28.884s +3.138s 12
18 Lorens Lecertua 2m28.905s +3.159s 12
19 Valentino Mini 2m29.056s +3.310s 12
20 Luciano Morano 2m29.165s +3.419s 12
21 Max Reis 2m29.718s +3.972s 12
22 Pol Lopez 2m30.002s +4.256s 12
23 Antoine Fernande 2m20.323s +4.577s 12
24 Amir Sayed 2m30.327s +4.581s 11