Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship David tops both Spa practice sessions in FREC

David tops both Spa practice sessions in FREC

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: FRECA

Hadrien David set the pace in Formula Regional European Championship free practice at Spa-Francorchamps, topping both sessions.

The Alpine Academy affiliate set a best time of 2m15.500s in the faster Thursday session, half a second up on what he managed in FP1 on Wednesday, and he was 0.287 seconds ahead of Arden’s Eduardo Barrichello in second place.

Barrichello’s performance was particularly remarkable considering that he had failed to complete a single lap in FP1.

ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort were the only other drivers to break the 2m16s barrier to go third and fourth fastest, as every single driver improved on their FP1 bests in the second session.

David’s team-mate Gabriel Bortoleto managed the fifth-fastest laptime, ahead of MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif.

Paul Aron was the fastest of Prema’s drivers in seventh, but had a tangle with one of his team-mates at La Source requiring an early pitstop to replace his front wing.

Championship leader Dino Beganovic was a frontrunner early in FP2, but dropping to 12th by the time of the chequered flag, just 0.013s ahead of team-mate Hamda Al Qubaisi.

While Trident was not quite able to maintain its strong pace from Wednesday’s session, which had two red flag interruptions and was ended early by a steering issue for Esteban Masson that sent him into the La Source barriers, its driver Tim Tramnitz followed his fifth place in FP1 with the eight fastest laptime in FP2 on his first visit to Spa.

FP2 was red-flagged after G4 Racing’s Axel Gnos went off at Turn 7, and resumed after a 10-minute stoppage.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Hadrien David R-ace GP 2m15.500s 22
2 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 2m15.787s +0.287s 14
3 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 2m15.874s +0.374s 24
4 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 2m15.960s +0.460s 26
5 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 2m16.103s +0.603s 19
6 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 2m16.193s +0.693s 21
7 Paul Aron Prema 2m16.196s +0.696s 23
8 Tim Tramnitz Trident 2m16.214s +0.714s 24
9 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 2m16.215s +0.715s 19
10 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 2m16.238s +0.738s 15
11 Roman Bilinski Trident 2m16.241s +0.741s 22
12 Dino Beganovic Prema 2m16.316s +0.816s 22
13 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 2m16.329s +0.829s 23
14 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 2m16.344s +0.844s 27
15 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 2m16.346s +0.846s 26
16 Joshua Duerksen Arden 2m16.350s +0.850s 23
17 Noel Leon Arden 2m16.474s +0.974s 23
18 Esteban Masson ART Grand Prix 2m16.478s +0.978s 22
19 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 2m16.488s +0.988s 20
20 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 2m16.498s +0.998s 22
21 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 2m16.663s +1.163s 19
22 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 2m16.668s +1.168s 26
23 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 2m16.692s +1.192s 20
24 Francesco Braschi FA Racing by MP 2m16.716s +1.216s 21
25 Sebastian Montoya Prema 2m16.717s +1.217s 23
26 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 2m16.839s +1.389s 25
27 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 2m17.117s +1.617s 23
28 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M 2m17.159s +1.659s 17
29 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 2m17.191s +1.691s 21
30 Nicola Marinangeli Monolite Racing 2m17.440s +1.940s 23
31 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 2m17.472s +1.972s 18
32 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 2m17.834s +2.334s 21
33 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 2m18.166s +2.666s 21
33 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 2m18.272s +2.772s 15