Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Haverkort earns first FREC win in controlled Hungaroring display

Haverkort earns first FREC win in controlled Hungaroring display

by Ida Wood

Photo: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency

Kas Haverkort comfortably claimed his first Formula Regional European Championship win at the Hungaroring.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver made a strong start from pole, while fellow front-row man Paul Aron was passed at the inside of turn one by Gabriele Mini. Haverkort’s team-mate Joshua Dufek tried making a move on Aron too but sent him way wide off track.

Later in the lap a very similar incident occurred with R-ace GP’s Hadrien David, but Trident duo Roman Bilinski and Leonardo Fornaroli worked together to pass Dufek and managed to do so without going off track and losing places.

Lap one ended with Haverkort a second ahead of Mini, and then a train consisting of Bilinski, Fornaroli, Dufek, Prema’s points leader Dino Beganovic who had risen from 11th on the grid, Tim Tramnitz, Aron and David.

Aron cleared Tramnitz at turn one, and immediately had his progress halted after that by the defensive work of title rival and team-mate Beganovic. It was a similar story with all the other battles in the points places, leaving Haverkort to slowly edge clear of Mini who was in turn in controlling his pace in second place and pulling away from Bilinski.

Haverkort went trouble-free and finished the race 4.326 seconds clear of Mini, with Bilinski – who recently gained full Polish citizenship – almost 15s further back.

Fornaroli was just behind him at the finish after having to get defensive for a few laps late on against Dufek, and Aron was finally able to pass Beganovic at turn one but has dropped to third in the standings behind Mini.

Tramnitz retired in the pits with a car issue, leaving David, his team-mate Gabriel Bortoleto and FA Racing’s Esteban Masson to round out the points. Sami Meguetounif charged up the order to finish 12th.

Race result (19 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 31m54.578s
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +4.326s
3 Roman Bilinski Trident +19.103s
4 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +19.524s
5 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +20.434s
6 Paul Aron Prema +20.743s
7 Dino Beganovic Prema +22.074s
8 Hadrien David R-ace GP +23.455s
9 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP +24.059s
10 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP +27.993s
11 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +28.324s
12 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +29.811s
13 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix +30.186s
14 Noel Leon Arden +32.195s
15 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP +33.465s
16 Joshua Duerksen Arden +33.671s
17 Sebastian Montoya Prema +38.619s
18 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP +39.940s
19 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M +40.245s
20 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport +43.046s
21 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M +43.962s
22 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing +44.753s
23 Francesco Braschi MP Motorsport +46.766s
24 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing +47.726s
25 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing +47.961s
26 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing +50.768s
27 Andrea Rosso R-P-M +51.361s
28 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport +53.199s
29 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +54.156s
30 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP +56.326s
31 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +56.797s
Ret Tim Tramnitz Trident
Ret Eduardo Barrichello Arden
Fastest lap: Haverkort, 1m39.828s

Championship standings
 Beganovic 180   2 Mini 153   3 Aron 146   4 Haverkort 122   5 David 104   6 Michael Belov 91   7 Bortoleto 77   Boya 64   9 Montoya 38   10 Fornaroli 37