Home Featured Kas Haverkort crowned Spanish F4 champion with Jarama hat-trick

Kas Haverkort crowned Spanish F4 champion with Jarama hat-trick

by Peter Allen

Photo: F4 Spanish Championship

Kas Haverkort is the Spanish Formula 4 champion after the MP Motorsport driver completed his third hat-trick of the season at Jarama.

While the circuit was now dry enough for the field to race on slicks following two wet races, Haverkort repeated his flying start from pole position.

He led by 4.6 seconds at the end of lap three, at which point Mari Boya and Thomas ten Brinke both found a way past Oliver Goethe for second and third.

Just behind, Quique Bordas went off into the Turn 1 gravel trap – that and a separate incident for Alejandro Garcia brought out the safety car and cancelled out Haverkort’s advantage.

At the restart, Boya tried to challenge Haverkort on the outside into the first corner and found himself edged wide into the gravel, allowing ten Brinke and Goethe back past him.

Behind the lead fight were two more incidents – for Lena Buhler and Lorenzo Fluxa – that triggered another safety car period.

Five minutes remained on the clock when the race restarted again. Haverkort wasn’t able to escape but retained the lead to win by one second ahead of ten Brinke.

That result clinched the championship for Haverkort, who came into the race with an 80-point lead over Boya, with 72 points available from the final round scheduled for Barcelona next weekend.

MP Motorsport locked out the top six positions for the first time in a season it has dominated. Behind Goethe and Boya came Joshua Dufek and Enzo Joullie.

Completing the top 10 were Paul-Adrien Pallot, Mehrbod Shameli, Guilherme Oliveira and Suleiman Zanfari.

Race results (14 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 27m27.241s
2 Thomas ten Brinke MP Motorsport +1.017s
3 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +2.440s
4 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +2.876s
5 Joshua Dufek MP Motorsport +4.159s
6 Enzo Joullie MP Motorsport +7.096s
7 Paul-Adrien Pallot Drivex +11.040s
8 Mehrbod Shameli Xcel Motorsport +11.712s
9 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex +12.917s
10 Suleiman Zanfari Global Racing Service +13.181s
11 Carles Martínez Praga F4 +13.810s
12 Nicolas Baptiste Drivex +17.216s
Ret Lorenzo Fluxa Global Racing Service
Ret Lena Buhler Drivex
Ret Alejandro Garcia Global Racing Service
Ret Quique Bordas Praga F4
Fastest lap: Haverkort, 1m32.303s

Championship standings

1 Haverkort 323   2 Boya 229   3 Dufek 158   4 ten Brinke 133   5 Goethe 128   6 Fluxa 82   7 Bordas 77   8 Valdemar Eriksen 57   9 Filip Ugran 55   10 Ivan Nosov 52