Home Featured Dennis Hauger wins again in Italian F4 race marred by heavy crash

Dennis Hauger wins again in Italian F4 race marred by heavy crash

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Dennis Hauger took a comfortable second Italian Formula 4 win of the weekend at the Hungaroring, as a two crashes caused major delays.

On the first attempted start of the race, Jesse Salmenautio stalled from 13th on the grid and was narrowly avoided in being hit by anyone. At Turn 3 there was a crash through, with Lorenzo Ferrari clipping another driver before being launched nose-down into the barriers.

The race was then red flagged as barriers needed to be repaired and the helicopter had to land on track to airlift Ferrari to hospital.

When the race was restarted, from lap one, it only lasted a few seconds before a collision between Alessandro Famularo and Lucas Alecco Roy required the safety car. This meant it wasn’t until lap six that racing got underway properly, with Hauger immediately pulling away.

He slowed down slightly in the closing minutes of the race, which may prove crucial as the Red Bull junior is currently under investigation for his starting procedure.

Mikhael Belov finished the race second, ahead of Prema duo Paul Aron and Gianluca Petecof, Red Bull junior Jonny Edgar, Oliver Rasmussen and Sauber junior Roman Stanek.

The greatest beneficiary of the restart was Salmenautio, who didn’t stall the second time around and was able to finish 12th.


Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Dennis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing 29m03.466s
2 Mikhael Belov Bhaitech +1.741s
3 Paul Aron Prema +3.899s
4 Gianluca Petecof Prema +4.566s
5 Jonny Edgar Jenzer Motorsport +6.528s
6 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +7.983s
7 Roman Stanek US Racing +8.404s
8 Niklas Krutten Van Amersfoort Racing +8.959s
9 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +11.394s
10 Umberto Laganella Bhaitech +12.294s
11 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +12.967s
12 Jesse Salmenautio DRZ Benelli +14.060s
13 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +14.765s
14 Gregoire Saucy R-ace GP +15.946s
15 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +19.028s
16 Roee Meyuhas Cram Motorsport +21.144s
17 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +22.122s
18 Filip Ugran BVM Racing +22.447s
19 Nico Gohler Mucke Motorsport +22.891s
20 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +23.901s
21 Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +26.018s
22 Emidio Pesce Jenzer Motorsport +28.483s
23 Ivan Berets DRZ Benelli +31.841s
24 Erwin Zanotti Mucke Motorsport +32.289s
25 Axel Gnos Jenzer Motorsport +32.549s
26 Lazslo Toth R-ace GP +35.821s
27 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +36.625s
28 Sebastian Freymuth AS?Motorsport +40.808s
29 Fabio Venditti Corbetta Racing +42.954s
30 Francesco Simonazzi Cram Motorsport +50.314s
31 Andrea Rosso Antonelli Motorsport +1m29.869s
Ret Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech
Ret Alessandro Famularo Prema
Ret Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing
DNS Lorenzo Ferrari Antonelli Motorsport
Fastest lap: Hauger, 1m43.297s

Championship standings
?Petecof 130? ?2 Hauger 94? ?3?Belov 65? ?4?Duerksen 56? ?5?Aron 52? ?6?Rasmussen 44? ?7?Krutten 41? ?8?Cohen 40? ?9?Stanek 38? ?10?Alatalo 34