Home Formula 2 Haryanto loses Monaco front row spot as one of four penalised drivers

Haryanto loses Monaco front row spot as one of four penalised drivers

by Peter Allen
Rio Haryanto

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

Rio Haryanto has lost his front row starting position for the GP2 feature race in Monaco after being one of four drivers to be handed grid penalties for impeding others in qualifying.

Caterham driver Haryanto had topped the Group B session to land a place at the head of the grid alongside pole-sitter Jolyon Palmer, but it was found that he had held up Stephane Richelmi (who the Indonesian had beaten to top spot by just 0.011 seconds) at the Anthony Nogues corner.

The decision relegates Haryanto to fifth on the grid, promoting Mitch Evans up to a P2 start for the second consecutive year, as well as Richelmi and Johnny Cecotto.

Daniel Abt got in the way of Cecotto at the Nouvelle Chicane, meaning he will start tenth instead of seventh, dropping him behind Stefano Coletti, Raffaele Marciello and Julian Leal. Abt had later slowed down on track at the chequered flag, preventing himself and Andre Negrao from starting another flying lap, but no penalty has been awarded for this second incident.

Abt’s Hilmer team-mate Facu Regalia has also been penalised for impeding Sergio Canamasas on the exit of the Swimming Pool, moving him from 20th to 23rd.

Finally, Felipe Nasr‘s first day back in the car after his maiden win in Barcelona gets worse. The Brazilian crashed out in practice and could then only manage the eighth best time in Group A, and has now been put back from 15th to 18th for impeding Cecotto at the final corner.

Meanwhile, last-place qualifier Artem Markelov will be forced to start from the pitlane in order to serve a grid penalty handed to him for causing a collision in the Barcelona sprint race.

Revised GP2 feature race grid
Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Jolyon Palmer DAMS 1:20.774
2 Mitch Evans Russian Time 1:21.188
3 Stephane Richelmi DAMS 1:21.444
4 Johnny Cecotto Trident 1:21.361
5 Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:21.433*
6 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:21.508
7 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 1:21.649
8 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1:21.917
9 Julian Leal Carlin 1:21.752
10 Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 1:21.760*
11 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:22.146
12 Sergio Canamasas Trident 1:21.926
13 Simon Trummer Rapax 1:22.296
14 Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:22.207
15 Rene Binder Arden International 1:22.270
16 Kimiya Sato Campos Racing 1:22.588
17 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 1:22.277
18 Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:22.381*
19 Tio Ellinas MP Motorsport 1:22.681
20 Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:22.997
21 Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport 1:22.488
22 Andre Negrao Arden International 1:23.178
23 Facu Regalia Hilmer Motorsport 1:22.473*
24 Nathanael Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:22.632
25 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 1:23.259
26 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:23.347

* – Three-place grid penalty