Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6 Hansson and Lappalainen take wins in 1.6 Nordic opener

Hansson and Lappalainen take wins in 1.6 Nordic opener

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: STCC

Photo: STCC

Robin Hansson and Joonas Lappalainen locked out the top two positions in both races of the 1.6 Nordic season opener at Karlskoga.

Lappalainen marked his debut in the series with double pole, but it was Hansson who vaulted into the lead on the opening lap of race one.

The Swede, who became a race winner on his guest outing in 1.6 STCC last year, managed to add another trophy to his collection, crossing the line 1.3s ahead of Lappalainen after 14 laps.

Paul Blomqvist, who took fifth in last year’s championship, rounded out the podium, ahead of Scuderia Nordica’s Oliver Soderstrom and pre-season favorite Lukas Sundahl.

Kevin Aabol took sixth ahead of Robert Svensson, while Ilmari Korpivaara led Rasmus Eriksson in eighth. Ralf Aron, recovering from an issue on lap four, rounded out the top ten.

Lappalainen made better use of his pole in race two, getting a solid start and controlling the race to take his first victory in the series. Hansson picked up a solid second, while Blomqvist took another third place.

Soderstrom was, again, fourth, narrowly leading Pontus Fredricsson. Sundahl kept Aabol, Svensson and Korpivaara to take sixth, with Eriksson completing the top ten.

Full-timer Lappalainen and series guest Hansson, who races in 2.0 NEC, jointly lead the standings with 43 points.

Race one
Pos. Driver Time/Gap
1 Robin Hansson 14 laps in 16:24.782
2 Joonas Lappalainen +1.334
3 Paul Blomqvist +8.514
4 Oliver Soderstrom +11.020
5 Lukas Sundahl +15.561
6 Kevin Aabol +18.480
7 Robert Svensson +20.996
8 Ilmari Korpivaara +22.980
9 Rasmus Eriksson +23.805
10 Ralf Aron +30.719
11 Robin Fredriksson +32.955
12 Pontus Fredricsson +40.994
13 David Nordgren +3 laps
Not classified
Karl Ero +13 laps
DNS Otto Tjader
Race two
Pos. Driver Time/Gap
1 Joonas Lappalainen 13 laps in 17:43.719
2 Robin Hansson +2.379
3 Paul Blomqvist +5.464
4 Oliver Soderstrom +6.906
5 Pontus Fredricsson +7.688
6 Lukas Sundahl +15.766
7 Kevin Aabol +16.207
8 Robert Svensson +16.985
9 Ilmari Korpivaara +17.926
10 Rasmus Eriksson +23.028
11 Robin Fredriksson +36.276
12 Karl Ero +38.762
13 Ralf Aron +3 laps
Not classified
David Nordgren +13 laps
DNS Otto Tjader