Home Formula RegionalFRegional Asian Championship Hadjar leads Hitech one-two in FRAC’s return to track at Yas Marina

Hadjar leads Hitech one-two in FRAC’s return to track at Yas Marina

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRAC

Formula Regional Asian Championship held a pre-event test day on Thursday at Yas Marina Circuit ahead of its first round of 2022 there, and Isack Hadjar set the pace.

The Hitech GP driver was beaten by his team-mate Gabriele Mini in the first session in the morning by 0.068 seconds, with Evans GP’s Cem Bolukbasi 0.211s back in third.

Arthur Leclerc was fourth for Mumbai Falcons and half a second slower than Mini, with the top 10 within a second of the pace. David Morales, driving for Evans GP’s satellite Academy squad, set six laps but did not record a time.

The first of the afternoon sessions was the faster one for most drivers, and again Hadjar and Mini disputed top spot. This time the advantage went to Hadjar by 0.042s with what ended up being the fastest lap of the day, and behind those two were a trio of 3Y Technology by R-ace GP drivers: Gabriel Bortoleto, Hadrien David and Lorenzo Fluxa.

Morales and Alister Yoong, subsituting for Ido Cohen at BlackArts Racing, were absent from the session. Mumbai Falcons’ Sebastian Montoya and Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema’s Jak Crawford both caused red flags, while BlackArts’ Brice Morabito was summoned to the race director post-season.

There was a similar pace set later in the afternoon, with Hadjar again quickest in session three but 0.133s slower than his earlier benchmark.

This time he had more of a margin, with a 0.287s gap to Bortoleto and 0.338s to Bolukbasi, who improved on his earlier time to rise up to sixth in the combined classification of the day.

Pinnacle Motorsport’s Pepe Marti also improved to rise to seventh, ahead of Leclerc and Prema’s FRegional Europe drivers Paul Aron and Dino Beganovic who set identical laptimes.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap La2ps
1 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m51.271s 63
2 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m51.313s +0.042s 65
3 Gabriel Bortoleto 3Y by R-ace GP 1m51.612s +0.341s 64
4 Hadrien David 3Y by R-ace GP 1m51.681s +0.410s 58
5 Lorenzo Fluxa 3Y by R-ace GP 1m51.699s +0.428s 58
6 Cem Bolukbasi Evans GP 1m51.742s +0.471s 64
7 Pepe Marti Pinnacle Motorsport 1m51.917s +0.646s 65
8 Arthur Leclerc Mumbai Falcons 1m51.947s +0.676s 62
9 Paul Aron Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m52.059s +0.788s 63
10 Dino Beganovic Mumbai Falcons 1m52.059s +0.788s 59
11 Jak Crawford Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m52.171s +0.900s 57
12 Frederick Lubin Evans GP 1m52.193s +0.922s 61
13 Dilano van’t Hoff Pinnacle Motorsport 1m52.320s +1.049s 57
14 Leonardo Fornaroli Hitech GP 1m52.355s +1.084s 61
15 Levente Revesz Evans GP Academy 1m52.357s +1.086s 62
16 Oliver Goethe 3Y by R-ace GP 1m52.459s +1.188s 58
17 Joshua Dufek Hitech GP 1m52.533s +1.262s 44
18 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m52.635s +1.364s 60
19 Nicola Marinangeli Evans GP 1m52.676s +1.405s 49
20 Sebastian Montoya Mumbai Falcons 1m53.059s +1.788s 24
21 Ayato Iwasaki Pinnacle Motorsport 1m53.411s +2.140s 62
22 Khaled Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m53.423s +2.152s 56
23 David Morales Evans GP Academy 1m53.900s +2.629s 29
24 Alister Yoong BlackArts Racing 1m53.964s +2.693s 28
25 Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 1m53.986s +2.715s 60
26 Brice Morabito BlackArts Racing 1m54.130s +2.859s 57
27 Salih Yoluc Pinnacle Motorsport 1m54.468s +3.197s 56
28 Thomas Luedi BlackArts Racing 1m55.773s +4.502s 46