Home News Mercedes’ Antonelli tops pre-event test for F4 UAE opener

Mercedes’ Antonelli tops pre-event test for F4 UAE opener

by Ida Wood

Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior Andrea Kimi Antonelli went fastest on the day of testing before the Formula 4 United Arab Emirates opener at Yas Marina Circuit.

There were two sessions, with the morning running topped by Xcel Motorsport’s Jamie Day. MP Motorsport’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak, Antonelli and Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne were all within two tenths of a second of him, and a further nine drivers were within a second of the pace. Slowest was Uzbekistani karting graduate Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev, 3.229s back.

The second session was twice stopped, with the red flag periods being caused by AKM Motorsport’s Brando Badoer and JHR Developments’ Michael Shin, and it was Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema’s Aiden Neate who was on top early on by half a second.

After the first restart there weren’t too many improvements, while 3Y Technology by R-ace GP’s Nikhil Bohra recieved a warning for a breach of the practice start and exit procedure with the tunnel at the pitlane exit.

Antonelli went fastest with three quarters of an hour to go of the session and stayed in first place with an improvement of seven tenths of a second. His Prema team-mates occupied the spots behind him prior to the next red flag stoppage, before Bohra rose to second place late on and went just 0.084s slower than Antonelli who will be doing the first and third rounds of the championship as he takes the place of Rafael Camara this weekend at late notice.

Camara’s fellow Ferrari junior James Wharton was third fastest and four tenths slower than Antonelli, with Inthraphuvasak close behind and MP’s Rik Koen in fifth. Koen is set to do the opening two rounds.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m55.188s 48
2 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +0.084s 54
3 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.415s 56
4 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +0.440s 37
5 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +0.523s 49
6 Charlie Wurz Prema +0.570s 46
7 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.787s 46
8 Sohil Shah Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +0.876s 51
9 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +1.070s 48
10 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +1.116s 56
11 Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport +1.134s 50
12 Vladislav Ryabov Global Racing Service +1.153s 34
13 Ollie Gray Hitech GP +1.156s 49
14 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +1.208s 53
15 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +1.304s 25
16 Jules Castro Pinnacle Motorsport +1.382s 55
17 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport +1.434s 45
18 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +1.463s 43
19 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +1.807s 53
20 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +1.886s 50
21 Michael Shin JHR Developments +1.919s 54
22 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +2.183s 54
23 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport +2.322s 55
24 Victoria Blokhina 3Y by R-ace GP +2.369s 41
25 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +3.031s 50
26 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +3.785s 51