Home Featured Giltaire delivers ART GP its first FREC win since 2022 at Hockenheim

Giltaire delivers ART GP its first FREC win since 2022 at Hockenheim

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: FRECA

Evan Giltaire held off Rafael Camara to earn his maiden Formula Regional European Championship win at Hockenheim, in a race which ended behind the safety car.

It was the first win for ART Grand Prix since the 2022 season finale, and made up for the disappointment of Giltaire retire with gearbox issues in the previous day’s race.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ivan Domingues was set to start on pole, but the fastest laps of Prema’s James Wharton and Giltaire were reinstated after previously being deleted over track limits violations and that put them on the front row with Domingues knocked back to fourth behind Wharton’s team-mate Camara.

Wharton made a poor getaway from pole but he and Giltaire left the faster Camara without a gap to sneak into. Giltaire took the inside and the lead, and Camara then got a run on Wharton into turn two to take second.

Wharton’s race got worse when he came together with VAR’s Pedro Clerot at the hairpin, forcing him into retirement.

Domingues made a good start and ended lap one in third, with R-ace GP’s Enzo Deligny in fourth. Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu pulled off after an incident with KIC Motorsport’s Alex Sawer, while Race Performance Motorsport’s Edgar Pierre got stuck in the gravel and so the safety car was summoned.

Racing resumed at the end of lap six and Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael put immediate pressure on VAR’s Brando Badoer, pulling off a move into the hairpin. Deligny lost ground with the three ahead and was soon defending from Nael.

Further back, Trident’s Roman Bilinski ran into the back of team-mate Niko Lacorte at turn two although both continued.

The safety car was soon required once more as Iron Dames’ Doriane Pin appeared to clip ART GP’s Lena Buhler at the hairpin, pushing her off track.

Green flags next flew with five-and-a-half minutes left of the race, and Nael challenged Deligny straight away. But before the drivers had a chance to get back into a rhythm, KIC Motorsport’s Costa Toparis and G4 Racing’s Kanato Le collided as they went through the fast right-hander into the Motodrom.

With two cars in the gravel and just over three minutes on the clock, the remaining laps ran behind the safety car and victory was secured for Giltaire.

Race results (15 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Evan Giltaire ART Grand Prix 33m12.713s
2 Rafael Camara Prema +0.934s
3 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing +1.355s
4 Enzo Deligny R-ace GP +1.654s
5 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +2.057s
6 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing +2.569s
7 Pedro Clerot Van Amersfoort Racing +3.524s
8 Nikita Bedrin MP Motorsport +4.110s
9 Tuukka Taponen R-ace GP +4.504s
10 Niko Lacorte Trident +4.941s
11 Matteo De Palo Sainteloc Racing +6.158s
12 Roman Bilinski Trident +6.335s
13 Noah Stromsted R-P-M +7.356s
14 Alessandro Giusti ART Grand Prix +7.800s
15 Giovanni Maschio R-P-M +8.437s
16 Zachary David R-ace GP +8.718s
17 Romain Andriolo G4 Racing +9.652s
18 Ruiqi Liu Trident +9.920s
19 Jesse Carrasquedo G4 Racing +11.463s
20 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +12.222s
21 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi KIC Motorsport +12.700s
22 Nikhil Bohra MP Motorsport +12.815s
23 Doriane Pin Iron Dames +13.403s
24 Enzo Peugeot Sainteloc Racing +18.621s
25 Marta Garcia Iron Dames +19.033s
26 Yaroslav Veselaho ART Grand Prix +19.267s
Ret Costa Toparis KIC Motorsport
Ret Kanato Le G4 Racing
Ret Lena Buhler ART Grand Prix
Ret Ugo Ugochukwu Prema
Ret Alex Sawer KIC Motorsport
Ret James Wharton Prema
Ret Edgar Pierre R-P-M
Fastest lap: Giltaire, 1m37.373s

Championship standings
Camara 43   2 Giltaire 25   3 Domingues 25   4 Taponen 20   5 Badoer 20   6 Wharton 15   7 Deligny 13   8 Bedrin 12   9 Nael 10   10 Clerot 6