Home Formula 3GB3 Gilkes takes maiden win as GB3 season draws to a close

Gilkes takes maiden win as GB3 season draws to a close

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hillspeed’s Nick Gilkes claimed victory in the final race of the GB3 season at Donington Park.

Gilkes started from pole in the fully reversed-grid contest after a penalty for Fortec Motorsport’s Mikkel Grundtvig, and the Canadian fended off Elite Motorsport’s newcomer Ayato Iwasaki into the first corner to lead the way.

Hitech driver Cian Shields took second away from Iwasaki through the Craner Curves, with Arden’s Alex Connor soon moving into third.

The front three started to pull clear of Iwasaki while Carlin’s Roberto Faria, who made up five places on the opening lap, had an early spin exiting Fogarty from fifth, and was fortunate not to be collected by the chasing pack.

Things got worse for Carlin when all three of their drivers were caught up in the same incident a few laps later. JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees dived inside Callum Voisin for 11th, but contact caused rear-left suspension for Voisin, who then went through the gravel, with his front-wing flying into the path of team-mates Sagrera and Faria.

Voisin was out on the spot, ending his hopes of finishing third in the standings, while Faria dropped down the field once more having also lost his front wing.

That caused a safety car period followed by four more laps of green flag racing, with Gilkes going on to win by 0.903s on Hillspeed’s home circuit from Shields, with Connor scoring his first podium of the season in third.

Connor’s team-mate Nico Christodoulou was fourth, less than 0.2s ahead of Fortec’s Joel Granfors, who made great progress from 13th.

Iwasaki finished sixth, while newly-crowned champion Luke Browning finished the campaign with seventh for Hitech, which overhauled Carlin to also win the teams’ title.

McKenzy Cresswell was eighth ahead of Rees and David Morales.

Race result (13 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed 20m17.698s
2 Cian Shields Hitech GP +0.903s
3 Alex Connor Arden +1.198s
4 Nico Christodoulou Arden +1.507s
5 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports +1.671s
6 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport +3.235s
7 Luke Browning Hitech GP +3.952s
8 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing +4.699s
9 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +5.264s
10 David Morales Arden +5.680s
11 Javier Sagrera Carlin +5.898s
12 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +6.194s
13 Bryce Aron Hitech GP +7.206s
14 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +10.549s
15 Roberto Faria Carlin +11.755s
16 John Bennett Elite Motorsport +12.013s
17 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +12.386s
18 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport +13.227s
19 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +13.384s
Ret Callum Voisin Carlin
Fastest lap: Christodoulou, 1m24.046s

Championship standings
 Browning 507   Granfors 460.5   3 Lebbon 363.5   4 Voisin 359   5 Faria 316.5   6 Rees 310.5   7 Esterson 292.5   8 Bennett 262.5   9 Sagrera 257.5   10 Connor 252.5