Home Formula 3GB3 George Russell takes first win in cars in reverse-grid Silverstone race

George Russell takes first win in cars in reverse-grid Silverstone race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: BRDC F4

Photo: BRDC F4

British karting prodigy George Russell took his maiden victory in single-seater racing in BRDC F4’s second race at Silverstone.

Russell started the reverse-grid race in P4, with Lanan teammate Arjun Maini holding pole ahead of Will Palmer and Gustavo Lima.

The Indian held on to the lead off the line, but was overtaken for first by Lima during the course of a hectic opening lap, as Russell stayed in fourth.

The British karting graduate then fought his way up to second on lap two, before stealing the lead off of Lima on lap three.

The rest proved a relaxing Sunday drive for Russell, who pulled away from the opposition with every lap as his rivals were preoccupied with fighting for second.

As a number of cars lined up behind Lima with the hopes of being the one to take second, the Brazilian managed to hold station for several laps, before finally surrendering the place to ADAC Formel Masters graduate Nicolas Beer on lap seven.

On that very same lap, Struan Moore, who started the race in dead last, also made his way through Lima to take third and began putting pressure on Beer.

However, four seconds behind dominant race winner Russell, it was Beer who held on to second, with Moore rounding out the podium. Race one winner Raoul Hyman overtook Lima for fourth, with the Brazilian settling for fifth place.

Palmer recorded a sixth-place finish, while Protyre FR2.0 champion Chris Middlehurst led Diego Menchaca in seventh. David Wagner wound up ninth, with HHC’s Sennan Fielding rounding out the top ten.

Race result
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 George Russell Lanan Racing 9 laps in 20:57.416
2 Nicolas Beer Sean Walkinshaw Racing +3.890
3 Struan Moore Lanan Racing +4.293
4 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +4.827
5 Gustavo Lima Hillspeed +5.653
6 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport +6.101
7 Chris Middlehurst Mark Godwin Racing +7.792
8 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport +8.043
9 David Wagner Mark Godwin Racing +9.584
10 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport +11.668
11 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing +12.014
12 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +22.431
13 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +25.329
14 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +25.519
15 Dan Roeper PetroBall +25.904
16 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport +30.952
17 Michael Claessens Mark Godwin Racing +51.955
Not classified
Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport +2 laps
Falco Wauer Enigma Motorsport +7 laps
Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing +7 laps
Alfredo Zabalza HHC Motorsport +8 laps
Gaetano Di Mauro PetroBall +9 laps