Home Featured Gabriele Mini wins on car racing debut at Misano in Italian F4

Gabriele Mini wins on car racing debut at Misano in Italian F4

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Gabriele Mini managed two safety car restarts to take a lights-to-flag won on his car racing debut in race one of the Italian Formula 4 season at Misano.

The Prema driver was kept under pressure from Francesco Pizzi for much of the race, but offered scant opportunity for the lone Van Amersfoort Racing driver to make a move.

Mini made a strong start to extend a lead from Pizzi and Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli as the pair battled for second position, but his hard work was undone when the safety car was brought out less than 10 minutes into the 30 minute race after a multi-car collision at the back of the field.

Fornaroli kept the pressure on Pizzi on the restart, allowing Mini to pull away again. As Fornaroli aimed to make a move forward, Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran made a move to pull alongside.

Ugran found a way through, bringing the next Prema car of Sebastian Montoya and BVM Racing’s Pietro Delli Guanti into the battle for the final podium position.

Before either could follow him past, the safety car was brought out again as Abu Dhabi Racing’s Hamda Al Qubaisi ran wide into the gravel while running in 12th.

This time Pizzi was able to challenge Mini on the restart, but Mini didn’t put a wheel wrong and Pizzi had to turn from attack to defense to stay ahead of Ugran.

Mini was untouchable through the closing stages of the race, though Pizzi was able to pull close to the Prema driver.

He finished 0.547s ahead to take the first win of the season, while Pizzi managed to beat Ugran to second after the Romanian briefly got past.

Fornaroli finished ahead of Prema’s Ferrari junior Dino Beganovic and Delli Guanti to finish fourth, while Gabriel Bortoleto managed to pass Montoya in the closing stages of the race to take seventh.

Bhaitech’s Jesse Salmenautio and reigning Motorsport Games F4 Cup gold medallist Andrea Rosso completed the top 10.


Race results (19 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 33m10.304s
2 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +0.547s
3 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +4.244s
4 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +5.333s
5 Dino Beganovic Prema +6.075s
6 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +8.947s
7 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +9.688s
8 Sebastian Montoya Prema +11.905s
9 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +12.817s
10 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +13.923s
11 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech +15.005s
12 Francesco Simonazzi DRZ Benelli +18.225s
13 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +19.217s
14 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +22.734s
15 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport +22.982s
16 Cenyu Han AKM Motorsport +28.299s
17 Bence Valint Mucke Motorsport +32.355s
18 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +32.805s
Ret Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech
Ret Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing
Ret Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech
Fastest lap: Pizzi, 1m35.179s