Home Formula 4Italian F4 Gabriele Mini wins Imola opener to add to Italian F4 lead

Gabriele Mini wins Imola opener to add to Italian F4 lead

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Gabriele Mini won the opening Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Imola as team-mate Dino Beganovic held off Jak Crawford to make it a Prema 1-2.

Crawford, who was fastest in qualifying but carried over a grid penalty from his last Italian appearance, took second from Beganovic off the line, but couldn’t shake the Ferrari junior.

Mini, Crawford, and Beganovic all broke away from the rest of the field, as a queue of cars formed behind fourth-placed Pietro Delli Guanti.

Before Beganovic could find a way back past Crawford, the safety car was brought out to neutralise the field. Gabriel Bortoleto and Sebastian Ogaard were both sent into the gravel after contact with Axel Gnos. Elsewhere, Nicolas Baptiste and Cenyu Han had a coming together, resulting in Baptiste being handed a drive through penalty.

Beganovic immediately pulled alongside Crawford on the restart. Van Amersfoort Racing-run Red Bull junior Crawford tried to defend but he couldn’t keep the Prema driver behind him.

The pair spent the rest of the race battling for position, allowing Mini to pull a small gap at the front of the field. He took the victory 0.642s ahead of the battle, claiming his fourth win of the season.

Crawford couldn’t find a way back past Beganovic and finished 0.4s behind.

Ollie Bearman took fourth after passing Delli Guanti on the restart. BVM Technorace’s Delli Guanti fell back into a battle with Jonny Edgar for fifth, though it was a few laps before Bearman was able to break away from the battle.

Delli Guanti eventually fell out of the top 10 and retired, while Iron Lynx racer Leonardo Fornaroli passed Edgar to join the battle for fourth. He pushed Bearman hard, but the US Racing driver held on to take fourth.

Edgar came home sixth ahead of the battling Prema duo of Sebastian Montoya and Kirill Smal.

Francesco Pizzi climbed to ninth after a difficult qualifying session, passing Joshua Duerksen in the closing stages of the race, but is now 59 points behind Mini, who could secure the title on Sunday.

Race results (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 32m07.854s
2 Dino Beganovic Prema +0.642s
3 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +1.009s
4 Ollie Bearman US Racing +6.162s
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +6.516s
6 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +8.292s
7 Sebastian Montoya Prema +10.973s
8 Kirill Smal Prema +13.179s
9 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +13.493s
10 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +13.941s
11 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +14.841s
12 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport +16.041s
13 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +19.586s
14 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech +20.845s
15 Vlad Lomko US Racing +21.080s
16 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Technorace +22.171s
17 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport +23.319s
18 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +30.079s
19 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +33.457s
20 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +37.238s
21 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport +37.517s
22 Yaroslav Shevyrtalov Iron Lynx +41.742s
23 Tikhon Kharitonov Bhaitech +44.982s
24 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +45.409s
25 Pietro Armanni BVM Technorace +49.594s
26 Diego Contecha Mucke Motorsport +49.732s
27 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport +1m06.660s
Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech
Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing
Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Technorace
Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport
Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech
Gabriel Bortoleto Prema
Axel Gnos G4 Racing
Fastest lap: Beganovic, 1m44.349s

Championship Standings
Mini 240   2 Pizzi 181   3 Rosso 139   4 Beganovic 128   5 Bortoleto 125   6 Ugran 120   7 Jonny Edgar 115   8 Jak Crawford 100   9 Fornaroli 84   10 Montoya 73